Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Dark elf question

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
haelog1

haelog1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
Hey, for cards that say "lose hit points for a turn", can the effect destroy units if the hit point loss is enough to destroy the card?

#2
Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3289 posts
Yes it can.

#3
haelog1

haelog1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
Also, is there any limitations to sacrificing units?

#4
Skelton

Skelton

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 2082 posts
Not sure what you mean exactly but...

You can choose to sacrifice any number of your units on whatever card effect you have in mind.

Obviously you cannot sacrifice your opponents units.

To sacrifice something will not trigger any 'when destroyed' effects. The 2 terms are very different.

Hope that answers your question.

#5
haelog1

haelog1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
Skelton, that answers my question perfectly. Thanks for the clarity on the 'when destroyed' clarity as well, I had assumed sacrifice was a method of unit destruction, so I had been playing that incorrectly.

Last question (I think), can you sacrifice a unit from your hand?

Example: I have a strong unit in my hand. I sacrifice it from my hand to my discard pile, then play the Raise dead card to bring it out to play. Is that legal?

#6
HappyDD

HappyDD

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 236 posts
You can't sacrifice something unless it is in play.

#7
Skelton

Skelton

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 2082 posts

Skelton, that answers my question perfectly. Thanks for the clarity on the 'when destroyed' clarity as well, I had assumed sacrifice was a method of unit destruction, so I had been playing that incorrectly.



No worries. Any more rules questions, post here and someone will get back to you pretty quickly.