Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Aggression and Executor Timing


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
TheEmpireBringsSexyBack

TheEmpireBringsSexyBack

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts

Aggression

Play only during [DS's] turn.

Action: Each player must sacrifice a unit, if able.

 

Executor

Reaction: After a card is sacrificed, deal 1 damage to a target enemy unit or objective.

 

 

How does the timing of this combo go?  Are both cards sacrificed before the executor reacts and puts out two damage?  Or is it one sacrifice, one react, second sacrifice, second react?  Does DS get to decide who sacrifices their unit first, or is it done simultaneously, or is there a rule/ruling that says who sacrifices first?



#2
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts

Covered in the Rules Clarification thread above, post #91:

 

Question: Could you explain the timing for Aggression and how it interacts with Executor

Reply:
Here's how it would work:

1) Aggression is played.

2) Each player now has to choose a unit to sacrifice.

This invokes: 2.2: "If a single effect affects multiple players simultaneously, but the players must individually make choices to resolve the effect, the player who played or executed the effect chooses first, with priority then proceeding clockwise around the table."

So the dark side player, who played the effect, chooses who he will sacrifice first. Note that he is only choosing at this time -- the unit he chooses is not sacrificed yet.

3) After the dark side player has made his choice, the light side player chooses who he will sacrifice. Note that he is only choosing at this time -- the unit he chooses is not sacrificed yet.

4) Once all players have chosen who they will be sacrificing, the effect resolves, and all chosen units are sacrificed simultaneously.

5) The Executor may now trigger its reaction once for each sacrificed unit. It must resolve the first of these two reactions in full before initiating the second. (So it's basically: "Trigger in reaction to one unit being sacrificed, go through entire resolution, then trigger in reaction to other unit being sacrificed, and go through entire resolution.")

Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games



#3
TheEmpireBringsSexyBack

TheEmpireBringsSexyBack

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts

Thanks.  We need a facepalm emoticon for times such as these in which you re-ask a question that's in the rules thread.



#4
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts

Thanks.  We need a facepalm emoticon for times such as these in which you re-ask a question that's in the rules thread.

I don't really mind.  It's hard to find rulings hiding in that thread.  I just happened to know that one was there because I was the one who posted it. :D



#5
KennedyHawk

KennedyHawk

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1890 posts

Hi dbmeboy we has a similar question come up at the Store Championship.

 

If someone plays aggression with Vader on the board when does vader ping for his damage. Say they have only a Yoda and R2-D2 out, can vader pay for the event trigger his reaction to kill R2 forcing Yoda to be sacced?



#6
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts

Hi dbmeboy we has a similar question come up at the Store Championship.
 
If someone plays aggression with Vader on the board when does vader ping for his damage. Say they have only a Yoda and R2-D2 out, can vader pay for the event trigger his reaction to kill R2 forcing Yoda to be sacced?


Following the same logic as above, Vader doesn't get to React until after the event has finished being played, which includes resolving the effects. So he doesn't get to ping until after the units are sacrificed.
  • KennedyHawk likes this

#7
Scottie

Scottie

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1968 posts
Vader's ping would come after the Executor's reaction as well if both were in play.

#8
KennedyHawk

KennedyHawk

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1890 posts

Following the same logic as above, Vader doesn't get to React until after the event has finished being played, which includes resolving the effects. So he doesn't get to ping until after the units are sacrificed.

 

That's how I ruled it I just wanted to double check that I didn't rule incorrectly.


  • yodaman likes this