Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Infiltration and shielding


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
Jackofhearts

Jackofhearts

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 378 posts
Infiltration:
Action: During an engagement, put a character unit into play from your hand as a participating unit on your side. If that unit is still in play at the end of the phase, return it to your hand.
Shielding: when this uniy enters an engagement, place 1 shield on any unit or objective in the engagement.

If I Infiltration, say, Carlist Riekaan, does he get to place a shield? A strict reading of the rules seems to indicate so, but i want to check if this has come up before and had a ruling.

#2
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 608 posts
Shielding doesn't trigger when the unit "enters" the engagement, but when it is declared attacker or defender (step 2 and 3 of an engagement)

So the answer is no.

Rulebook :
shielding
When a card with the “Shielding” keyword is declared
as either attacker or defender, its controller may immediately place one shield token on any friendly unshielded participating unit, or to the engaged objective card, if unshielded.

#3
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts

Keep in mind that the reminder text on cards explaining keywords is just that: reminder.  The rulebook has the full rules for each keyword and where it disagrees with the reminder, the rulebook wins.