Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Attack Run up on CardgameDB

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
334 replies to this topic

#1
doctormungmung

doctormungmung

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 861 posts

Looks like the full set is up in the card list section.  Don't mess with Vader in when he's flying something.  Seriously, don't do it. :)


  • Majestaat and chunkygorillas like this

#2
Majestaat

Majestaat

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1913 posts

keystrokes keystrokes!

 

EDIT: Recovered from overheating. That objective is SO FRIGGIN FLAVORFUL. Didn't expect to see another 10 HP objective.

Vader is basically one big middle finger to everything. Nuff' said. His TIE can be bonkers in Black Squadron builds. But it's got a decent spread anyway, so it can fit just about any deck.

BS Fighter is nothing fancy. At only one copy I won't complain. Can be played with Vader's TIE, works nicely with Guarding the Wing and all the fighter tricks. 

Closed Formation... whoa. Remember Security Control Center? Well, it's back, for the DS, and in a very decent pod. TIEs will actually be able to dish out some damage before being destroyed/focused now. THIS IS SIMPLY HUGE.

I Have You Now is hit or miss. I don't expect it to be triggered often with the TIE's poor edge, but it can win games when you actually pull it off.

 

EVERYTHING IS STARTING TO MAKE SENSE NOW. I'm gonna shoot myself from excitement.



#3
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3892 posts

Also the deck builder.



#4
someguy11

someguy11

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 572 posts
New vader set seems legit. What exactly does Vader do though ?

#5
brimmstorm

brimmstorm

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 899 posts
Shields on TIEs is pretty huge.
  • chunkygorillas likes this

#6
TGO

TGO

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2588 posts

New vader set seems legit. What exactly does Vader do though ?


Keywords will work but nothing else will work against, he also stops twist of fate and fate cards.

#7
RedSquadronK

RedSquadronK

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts

Man, talk about resources! 4 of the 5 objectives have 2 resources, that's kind of cool.

 

Pretty excited for Vader and Boba, they both seem quite strong.



#8
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3892 posts

New vader set seems legit. What exactly does Vader do though ?

Cannot initiate card effects basically turns off any ability that has a start point (initiation point).  That includes all Actions, Reactions, and Interrupts.  Should include fate cards.  Not sure how it will interact with things like Shielding, Targeted Strike, etc.



#9
HaroldGodwinson

HaroldGodwinson

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts

Cannot initiate card effects basically turns off any ability that has a start point (initiation point).  That includes all Actions, Reactions, and Interrupts.  Should include fate cards.  Not sure how it will interact with things like Shielding, Targeted Strike, etc.

 

I'd have thought it would turn off Shielding and Targeted Strike etc. Are they not effects that activate because of what is written on the card?



#10
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3892 posts

Hard to say.  Are those always on and thus don't initiate?  Or do they "turn on" when they become relevant?



#11
HaroldGodwinson

HaroldGodwinson

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts

Hard to say.  Are those always on and thus don't initiate?  Or do they "turn on" when they become relevant?

 

I'd say they initiate as it's never compulsory to use them.

 

You can choose whether a shield is used to soak up a focus token or a damage token so I think you can choose whether or not to use it at all, it's certainly consistent. If it's an On/Off thing then they do initiate, you're using the card to turn them on and so they are cancelled by Vader. That's my take on it, I could well be wrong.



#12
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts

I would argue keywords don't initiate and is all just part of legal play. 

4.5 says 'A Card Effect is any effect that comes from the resolution of text printed on a card.' 

 

As Core Rules say, a keyword is 'an attribute which conveys specific rules to its card.'

 

I see it as just changing the rules, not necessarily initiating any shenanigans, but it is printed text, the keyword, so we'll have to see how this is ruled by the designers.



#13
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
If all Vader does is turn off actions, reactions and interrupts in 1 engagement then it's a really similar ability to Best that Credits can buy, only it has a global effect for that 1 engagement.

I'm pretty sure it will turn off fate cards but even then.

I don't mind the ability. It can sort of shut down an engagement but it's not stopping Yoda's tactics (though I guess the shields do). I think of it as a negative advantage. He gives you thing but forces your opponent to play around him.

Without playing it it's really hard to see how effective it will be in play. This Vader is so niche though and the whole thing is so Black Squadron centric. It's kind of disappointing in a way.

#14
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3892 posts

Well it also definitely shuts off fate cards.  That's pretty good.



#15
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts

I'd say they initiate as it's never compulsory to use them.

 

You can choose whether a shield is used to soak up a focus token or a damage token so I think you can choose whether or not to use it at all, it's certainly consistent. If it's an On/Off thing then they do initiate, you're using the card to turn them on and so they are cancelled by Vader. That's my take on it, I could well be wrong.

About keywords being optional, it just depends how you want to play it. I see it as the rule and option always being there. The way Edge[x] is written, it doesn't seem optional or initiated. But I've been spanked by rulings before.

 

Either way I still love this and expect tie decks now. While Vader pilots, no more Twist, Survivors, Jedi trainings at all! Hell, Talon Roll him a few times and really get your opponent mad. Imagine him with the pilot who can call him back. 


  • TGO likes this

#16
Pipes

Pipes

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 156 posts

Hey guys-

   I just wanted to drop a note to say that we are aware that the new cards from Attack Run "break" the deckbuilder by causing the NaN value to show up for resources and Force icons. We're currently working on a fix and this should be functional again soon. The first three packs in the Rogue Squadron cycle and Between the Shadows also caused this problem, but they are now fixed in the deckbuilder.

 

Thanks, and enjoy your deck building!

 

Evan


  • shinobishaw, dbmeboy, doctormungmung and 1 other like this

#17
Rio

Rio

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2208 posts

I Have You Now is hit or miss. I don't expect it to be triggered often with the TIE's poor edge, but it can win games when you actually pull it off.

 

 

 

Have you played TIES?  They get bonkers edge with Baron Fel and Precision Flying.  Ive had 6 Edge w/o playing a card!



#18
darthbs

darthbs

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1057 posts
Am I right that Vader can stop the spider coming into defend after the engagement is active, but can't stop it from attacking due to not being in the engagement to begin with. On the defensive the spider can circumvent this if the players pays up front before engagements are declared.

So we got a situation where we have cut one or two of the spiders legs but he has 6 left to smash our face in still.

However Pilot Vader supporting characters good against Jubba birds!

#19
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts

Have you played TIES? They get bonkers edge with Baron Fel and Precision Flying. Ive had 6 Edge w/o playing a card!


True but neither set is Black Squadron so you immediately lose all the synergy. There is going to be a balancing act in building a deck that suits you there.

Also I think you end up relying a lot of getting out Fel. Without him it's much more of a struggle.

#20
Solaris

Solaris

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1241 posts
This pod is amazing! Can't wait to add Vader to my TIE deck.