Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Ownership and control about unique cards

- - - - -

Best Answer ktom , 24 August 2015 - 12:13 PM

Can player A now marshal another copy of that character?

 

No.

 

Unique Cards (RRG, p.22):

" Each player may only have a maximum of one instance of each unique card, by title, in play."

 

 

That copy Player A owns, but Player B controls? That's Player A's "one instance."

 

Need more proof? There's the also the part that says, "A player may marshal (or put into play by a card ability) additional copies of each unique card he or she owns and controls, placed as a duplicate on that card, for no cost."

 

So, got a copy in play that you own? You can only marshal or put into play additional copies as a dupe. Don't currently control the copy you own? Then you can't dupe it, according to the rules for duplicates. The only way to satisfy both requirements at the same time is that you cannot marshal copies of uniques that you own, but don't control, at all.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Sulpures

Sulpures

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts

Let us set a situation as below.

 

Player A owns and controls a unique character. Then player B takes control of that character through an effect.

 

Can player A now marshal another copy of that charatcter?

 

If yes, what would happen when player B give back that character?

 

 

Related: RR P22

 

xxA player cannot take control of a unique card if he
or she already controls or owns an in-play copy of
that card.
 
xxA player cannot bring into play or take control of
a unique card if a copy of that card is in his or her
dead pile.
 
According to above, "bring into play" and "take control" are not the same. So marshal is included in "bring into play", the answer to my first question is probably yes. Then I have no idea with the second question.
 
If the answer to the first question is no, that means marshal is also considered as "take control"?


#2
FedericoFasullo

FedericoFasullo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 990 posts

"Can player A now marshal another copy of that charatcter?"

 

I'm 99% sure the answer is NO. Cannot find it in the RRG though.



#3
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1462 posts
✓  Best Answer

Can player A now marshal another copy of that character?

 

No.

 

Unique Cards (RRG, p.22):

" Each player may only have a maximum of one instance of each unique card, by title, in play."

 

 

That copy Player A owns, but Player B controls? That's Player A's "one instance."

 

Need more proof? There's the also the part that says, "A player may marshal (or put into play by a card ability) additional copies of each unique card he or she owns and controls, placed as a duplicate on that card, for no cost."

 

So, got a copy in play that you own? You can only marshal or put into play additional copies as a dupe. Don't currently control the copy you own? Then you can't dupe it, according to the rules for duplicates. The only way to satisfy both requirements at the same time is that you cannot marshal copies of uniques that you own, but don't control, at all.


  • Sulpures and andrewaa like this

#4
andrewaa

andrewaa

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
So take control of contains marshal?

#5
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1000 posts

No, but the rule about unique cards says you can't marshal, put into play or take control of a unique card if certain conditions are true (and proceeds to outline these conditions). You can only marshal cards you own, and you already control out-of-play cards you own. On the other hand, putting a card into play might (it usually doesn't) involve taking control of it (if it is owned, and therefore controlled, by the opponent - Euron and Yoren do that).



#6
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1462 posts

So take control of contains marshal?

 

"Take control" and "Marshal" are different. Neither contains the other.

But both are prohibited separately for a second copy of a unique card when you already own a copy in play (subject to the rules for duplicates, of course).



#7
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1000 posts

Let's say player A owns a unique card that is controlled by player B. No other copies of this card are in play or in player A's dead pile. Now let's imagine player A wants to use a card effect to take control of that card (I say imagine because no such effect exists yet). Is it allowed?



#8
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1732 posts

Let's say player A owns a unique card that is controlled by player B. No other copies of this card are in play or in player A's dead pile. Now let's imagine player A wants to use a card effect to take control of that card (I say imagine because no such effect exists yet). Is it allowed?

 

Yes, because of the definition of "Copy". See ktom's previous answer here.