Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Simultaneous triggers?

- - - - -

Best Answer istaril , 12 October 2015 - 01:19 PM

Thats what we assumed on Asha. However its always good to check on a new game to see if thats how it really works.

 

Yes, so long as you're still at the right step to initiate a triggered ability - it doesn't matter whether the card was blank or not (or not in hand yet - maybe you just drew the We do Not Sow with Great Kraken) while its triggering condition was being met - you can still use it. Note that while they all meet their triggering condition (winning a challenge unopposed), each one happens in turn (And is resolved fully in turn) - so these are NOT considered simultaneous.

 

szczudel is correct on the second count too - they are simultaneous abilities because they both happen at the same timing step, and aren't triggered. In that case, as per RR p16 "Priority of Simultaneous Resolution":

xxIf the resolution of two or more when revealed abilities, delayed effects, or forced abilities would resolve at the same time, the first player decides the order in which the abilities resolve, regardless of who controls the cards bearing the conflicting abilities.
xxIf two or more constant abilities and/or lasting effects cannot be applied simultaneously, the first player determines the order in which the constant abilities are applied.
Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
DOAisBetter

DOAisBetter

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 125 posts

Couldn't think of a better name for this but I have 2 questions.

 

Asha has milk of the poppy on her. I make an unopposed challenge with her and play We Do Not Sow on Milk of the Poppy. Can I now trigger her reaction to stand her?

 

I use Dothraki Sea to put into play Khal Drogo. My opponent plays Tears from Lys on Khal Drogo. I am first player does Khal Drogo go back to my hand before Tears of Lys can kill him?



#2
szczudel

szczudel

    Advanced Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 370 posts

Why not? Reaction window - after you win (opposed or not) challange, is still open? You resolve first reaction, then another.

In the second question - it is FP decision. This is Important to know when playing Tars because Waking the dragon has same racing condition. 



#3
DOAisBetter

DOAisBetter

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 125 posts

Thats what we assumed on Asha. However its always good to check on a new game to see if thats how it really works.



#4
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1732 posts
✓  Best Answer

Thats what we assumed on Asha. However its always good to check on a new game to see if thats how it really works.

 

Yes, so long as you're still at the right step to initiate a triggered ability - it doesn't matter whether the card was blank or not (or not in hand yet - maybe you just drew the We do Not Sow with Great Kraken) while its triggering condition was being met - you can still use it. Note that while they all meet their triggering condition (winning a challenge unopposed), each one happens in turn (And is resolved fully in turn) - so these are NOT considered simultaneous.

 

szczudel is correct on the second count too - they are simultaneous abilities because they both happen at the same timing step, and aren't triggered. In that case, as per RR p16 "Priority of Simultaneous Resolution":

xxIf the resolution of two or more when revealed abilities, delayed effects, or forced abilities would resolve at the same time, the first player decides the order in which the abilities resolve, regardless of who controls the cards bearing the conflicting abilities.
xxIf two or more constant abilities and/or lasting effects cannot be applied simultaneously, the first player determines the order in which the constant abilities are applied.