Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Queen of Thorns and drawing actions

- - - - - Queen of Thorns

Best Answer istaril , 26 October 2015 - 11:16 AM

You are indeed. A card does not need to be present/active at the time it's triggering condition initiated (or resolved), it simply needs to be present at some point during the reaction window in which it would have to be triggered.

 

The justification for this is at least partly the complexity of policing whether, in triggering the Mander THEN triggering QoT, you put a card that you drew or not. Simple solution: it doesn't matter.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
Explosive6

Explosive6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

In a game I played in OCTGN last night had some rules disagreements with my opponent. First was using Milk of the Poppy during his set up, I let that go but I see that's cleared up in the FAQ.

 

The other one was using the Queen of Thorns ability after using an action to draw a card. Can she put a Tyrell Character into play that just got drawn. Such as using the Mander or Olenna's Cunning?

 

 

Reaction: After you win an INT challenge in which The Queen of Thorns is participating, put a Tyrell character with printed cost 6 or lower into play from your hand.

 

 

Reaction: After you win an INT or POW challenge, the losing opponent names a cardtype (character, location, attachment, or event). Search your deck for a card with a different cardtype, reveal it, and add it to your hand. Shuffle your deck.

 

 

Reaction: After you win a challenge by 5 or more STR, kneel The Mander to draw 2 cards.

 

I was under the impression you could do reactions (first player gets first priority) and you can keep doing them until both players pass consecutively. Unless I'm reading the rules reference (page 17) incorrectly that I should have been able to draw first and then use QoT to put a character into play if I draw one. Am I reading that right? 



#2
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1732 posts
✓  Best Answer

You are indeed. A card does not need to be present/active at the time it's triggering condition initiated (or resolved), it simply needs to be present at some point during the reaction window in which it would have to be triggered.

 

The justification for this is at least partly the complexity of policing whether, in triggering the Mander THEN triggering QoT, you put a card that you drew or not. Simple solution: it doesn't matter.


  • Explosive6 likes this

#3
MagmaLamp

MagmaLamp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
What was the issue with milk? Was he trying to play it on your character at setup?
  • MagmaLamp likes this

#4
Explosive6

Explosive6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Yeah, I think I let him at the time.