Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Pilot (x) keyword


Best Answer dbmeboy , 26 February 2016 - 09:31 PM

They were never errata'd to have the Pilot (x) keyword (see the FAQ for official errata, though the image posted does have the correct text).  However, their post-errata text allows them to function very similar to units with the Pilot (x) keyword.

 

For your specific questions:

 

-Stay on Target can bring them in because they are Pilots (which is a Trait and not a Keyword).

-They do not have a pilot cost.

-Their text allows them to enter play as an enhancement, which allows them to become an enhancement when the Falcon puts them into play (pre-errata you could not do this).

 

Edit:

-Luke and Wedge may only enter play as Enhancements if on a Speeder of Fighter.  Luke cannot (and never could) be attached to the Falcon and then become a unit from bouncing the Falcon.

 

Corner case: Stay on Target can attach Luke, Wedge, or ever Rookie Pilot as an enhancement to any vehicle.  However, Rookie Pilot (or Luke/Wedge if not on a Speeder or Fighter) will be immediately discarded in that case because Enhancements need continuous legal permission to be attached to other cards and their text does not allow them to be attached in that case (this is the same reason that Tarkin causes enhancements to be discarded when blanked).

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
kiramode

kiramode

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1855 posts

I see that this card has been reprinted:

 

med_SWC30_220-4.jpg

 

I was under the impression that all the previous pilot cards had been errata'd to have the pilot(x) keyword. So seeing as how this guy has not been modified does that mean that the others don't as well?

 

Here are my main questions:

 

Can you actually bring in the old pilots via Stay on Target?

Do the old pilots actually have a pilot cost then?

If the old pilots don't have the keyword, would you no longer be able to do the move where you bounce the Falcon to put a pilot unit as an enhancement on a different vehicle?



#2
kiramode

kiramode

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1855 posts

Other cases:

 

med_wedge-antilles-the-desolation-of-hot

 

med_luke-skywalker-escape-from-hoth-64-2

 

Secondary question: these old pilots could attach to very specific units. The new pilots can attach to anything, but sometimes only have abilities if attached on certain types of units. I was under the impression that you could toss Hoth Luke on the Falcon in order to play him for free when the Falcon bounces. Have I been misreading how that card interaction works?



#3
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3927 posts
✓  Best Answer

They were never errata'd to have the Pilot (x) keyword (see the FAQ for official errata, though the image posted does have the correct text).  However, their post-errata text allows them to function very similar to units with the Pilot (x) keyword.

 

For your specific questions:

 

-Stay on Target can bring them in because they are Pilots (which is a Trait and not a Keyword).

-They do not have a pilot cost.

-Their text allows them to enter play as an enhancement, which allows them to become an enhancement when the Falcon puts them into play (pre-errata you could not do this).

 

Edit:

-Luke and Wedge may only enter play as Enhancements if on a Speeder of Fighter.  Luke cannot (and never could) be attached to the Falcon and then become a unit from bouncing the Falcon.

 

Corner case: Stay on Target can attach Luke, Wedge, or ever Rookie Pilot as an enhancement to any vehicle.  However, Rookie Pilot (or Luke/Wedge if not on a Speeder or Fighter) will be immediately discarded in that case because Enhancements need continuous legal permission to be attached to other cards and their text does not allow them to be attached in that case (this is the same reason that Tarkin causes enhancements to be discarded when blanked).



#4
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts

Other cases:

med_wedge-antilles-the-desolation-of-hot

med_luke-skywalker-escape-from-hoth-64-2

Secondary question: these old pilots could attach to very specific units. The new pilots can attach to anything, but sometimes only have abilities if attached on certain types of units. I was under the impression that you could toss Hoth Luke on the Falcon in order to play him for free when the Falcon bounces. Have I been misreading how that card interaction works?


Yeah you can't do that. They can only enhance specific targets. They aren't legal on anything else.

#5
IAmBatman

IAmBatman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 203 posts
Did this get updated with the last FAQ?