Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Jain Zar - noob question


Best Answer ktom , 26 February 2017 - 04:57 PM

RRG, p. 15:

 

Triggered Abilities

Action, battle, reaction, and interrupt abilities are known as triggered abilities. Such an ability is used when a player optionally initiates it at a specific moment in the game.

A bold timing command, followed by a colon and the rest of the ability, is indicative of a triggered ability.

If the word “Forced” precedes a triggered ability, the ability’s initiation is mandatory. 

 

 

Essentially, if it has a bold timing word at the beginning of the ability, Jain Zar can cancel it (assuming the targeting requirement is met).

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
Adackbar1972

Adackbar1972

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Hi, sorry for the noob-ish question, but is there an easy way for me to understand which effects Jain Zar can cancel with her Interrupt?  What is a 'triggered effect' and what is not?

 

Thanks



#2
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts
✓  Best Answer

RRG, p. 15:

 

Triggered Abilities

Action, battle, reaction, and interrupt abilities are known as triggered abilities. Such an ability is used when a player optionally initiates it at a specific moment in the game.

A bold timing command, followed by a colon and the rest of the ability, is indicative of a triggered ability.

If the word “Forced” precedes a triggered ability, the ability’s initiation is mandatory. 

 

 

Essentially, if it has a bold timing word at the beginning of the ability, Jain Zar can cancel it (assuming the targeting requirement is met).



#3
Adackbar1972

Adackbar1972

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Thanks.  That makes sense.  But what is, for example, "Bloodthirst"? (on Roghrax)



#4
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts

A specialization ability. 

 

They are character/card abilities, but they are not "triggered abilities." The fact that the player doesn't have any choice about their application or initiation is a big difference between them and triggered abilities, but the lack of a bold timing word at the beginning of the text is the defining factor.



#5
Adackbar1972

Adackbar1972

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

:-) cheers