Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Barring the Gates + Night Gathers...

- - - - -

Best Answer istaril , 17 March 2017 - 12:33 PM

Does Barring the Gates block Night Gathers?

 

=====
I interpret 'cause' as 'directly cause'. As in, the resolution of a card ability would result in a character entering play. Night Gathers doesn't put characters into play, so it doesn't directly cause characters to enter play. If you interpret 'cause' wider, as in 'without this ability you couldn't put this character into play', then you'd need to account for discounts and gold-generating abilities as well, no?

 

 

I concur. Night Gathers does not cause any cards to enter play - the cards are being marshaled (a game effect is putting them into play). Night gathers and Barring the Gates do not interact.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1412 posts
 
Card abilities cannot cause characters to enter play.
 
 
Marshaling Action: Choose an opponent whose reserve value is lower than yours. Until the end of the phase, you may marshal characters from that player's discard pile as if they were in your hand.

 

Does Barring the Gates block Night Gathers?

 

=====
I interpret 'cause' as 'directly cause'. As in, the resolution of a card ability would result in a character entering play. Night Gathers doesn't put characters into play, so it doesn't directly cause characters to enter play. If you interpret 'cause' wider, as in 'without this ability you couldn't put this character into play', then you'd need to account for discounts and gold-generating abilities as well, no?



#2
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1741 posts
✓  Best Answer

Does Barring the Gates block Night Gathers?

 

=====
I interpret 'cause' as 'directly cause'. As in, the resolution of a card ability would result in a character entering play. Night Gathers doesn't put characters into play, so it doesn't directly cause characters to enter play. If you interpret 'cause' wider, as in 'without this ability you couldn't put this character into play', then you'd need to account for discounts and gold-generating abilities as well, no?

 

 

I concur. Night Gathers does not cause any cards to enter play - the cards are being marshaled (a game effect is putting them into play). Night gathers and Barring the Gates do not interact.



#3
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts

Correct. The resolution of "Night Gathers..." does not actually put anything into play. A separate (modified) Marshaling action does. So there is no interaction between Night Gathers and Barring the Gates.

 

It's similar the how an "immune to events" defender could still be bypassed by an attacker which gained its stealth from an event like Quiet as a Shadow.



#4
ArinRahl

ArinRahl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

 I just had the same problem with Tarle... I get the argument, but still think it's weird...