Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Desmera Redwyne

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 11 August 2017 - 09:00 PM

Desmera Redwyne’s effect triggers only on effects that explicitly refer to removing a character from a challenge. Any game rules that cause a participating character to be “no longer participating” in the challenge are not considered to “remove” that character from the challenge and will not trigger Desmera’s reaction.

Thanks!
Danny Schaefer
Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1009 posts

Desmera Redwyne

Reaction: After a character is removed from a challenge, pay 1 gold to give that character +2 STR or -1 STR until the end of the phase.


Does Desmera trigger when:

- A participating character changes control?

- A challenge ends?

- If a character leaves play while participating, would it trigger other "After removed from a challenge"?

Relevant RRG entries:
 

4.2.6 Challenge ends

This step formalizes the end of the challenge. All characters that were participating in the challenge are no longer participating. Proceed to the action window between framework steps 4.1 and 4.2.

Participating

- If an ability explicitly removes a character from a challenge, that character is no longer participating in the challenge.
- If a participating character leaves play for any reason, it is no longer participating in the challenge.
- Once a character is participating in a challenge, losing the challenge icon of that type does not remove the character from the challenge.

Ownership and Control

- If a participating character changes control during the resolution of a challenge, it is immediately removed from the challenge.


So it appears that in the RRG, the words "remove from a challenge" are used interchangeably with "no longer participates". But what's the intent behind Desmera?

#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1009 posts
✓  Best Answer
Desmera Redwyne’s effect triggers only on effects that explicitly refer to removing a character from a challenge. Any game rules that cause a participating character to be “no longer participating” in the challenge are not considered to “remove” that character from the challenge and will not trigger Desmera’s reaction.

Thanks!
Danny Schaefer