Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Are actions, reactions etc. on focused objectives or units usable?


Best Answer theChony , 12 September 2017 - 03:29 PM

Hi, you can use card abilities whether a card is ready or exhausted(focused). Just follow what the rules say, no more, no less. Here is a specific example where you can't:

http://www.cardgamed...ptain-zed-r1540

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
gryff42

gryff42

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

The title says it all. Thanks in advance  :ph34r: The insturctions were unclear to me about this point.



#2
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts
✓  Best Answer

Hi, you can use card abilities whether a card is ready or exhausted(focused). Just follow what the rules say, no more, no less. Here is a specific example where you can't:

http://www.cardgamed...ptain-zed-r1540


  • gryff42 likes this

#3
gryff42

gryff42

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
thanks, that helps. And by card abilities you mean everything on the card except blaster/explosion/focus icons?

#4
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3781 posts
In general, being exhausted has the following effects (and none other inherently):
-Exhausted card cannot "focus." This includes focusing as a cost of an ability, focusing to generate resources, and focusing to strike. It's worth noting that only things that specifically "focus" the card cannot be used with exhausted cards. Effects that place focus tokens (eg Jedi Mind Trick, Tactics icons) can still place focus tokens on exhausted units.
-An exhausted card cannot be declared as an attacker or defender in an engagement.
-An exhausted card does not count its force icons towards the force struggle when committed.

Other than that, an exhausted card continues to function normally.

Edit: updated with relevant clarification suggested by theChony.
  • gryff42 likes this

#5
gryff42

gryff42

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
so lets say this card is exhausted

http://www.cardgamed...-the-force-94-4

it's reaction still happens, right?

#6
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3781 posts

so lets say this card is exhausted
http://www.cardgamed...-the-force-94-4
it's reaction still happens, right?


Correct.
  • gryff42 likes this

#7
gryff42

gryff42

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
Thank you!

#8
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts

thanks, that helps. And by card abilities you mean everything on the card except blaster/explosion/focus icons?

By 'card abilities', I was going for Actions, Reactions, Interrupts stated on cards, and general constant effects like our example in Captain Zed.

 

dbmeboy summed up the rest pretty nicely. I would just clarify that although an exhausted card cannot 'focus', it can have another focus token placed on it.


  • dbmeboy and gryff42 like this