Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Shameful Display and steward of law


Best Answer Khudzlin , 13 September 2017 - 07:43 AM

1) No. Shameful Display's ability targets 2 participating characters, so you can't trigger it if there is only one.

2) Yes. In the situation you describe, each participating character could be affected by Shameful Display (it could be honored), so it is a legal target. And once you have legal targets, you do as much as you can even if you can't do everything. With 2 ordinary characters, you'd be able to honor one (and then couldn't dishonor the other because of Steward of Laws); with one honored and one ordinary, you'd have to honor the ordinary one and dishonor the honored one (making it ordinary again); with one dishonored and one ordinary, you'd be able to honor either one (and then couldn't dishonor the other).

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
antariss

antariss

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Shameful Display:

Action: During a conflict at this province, choose 2 participating characters – honor one of those characters and dishonor the other.

 

Steward of law:

While this character is participating in a conflict, characters cannot become dishonored.

 

The question has two part:

 

1st part is if there is only one participation character, can I trigger Shameful display ability?

 

2nd part is if there are only two ondinary character participating, and one of them is steward, can I trigger Shameful Display ability? (if one of two participation character is dishonored/honored, can I trigger SD ability to dishonor/honor them?)

 

Thx. 



#2
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 984 posts
✓  Best Answer

1) No. Shameful Display's ability targets 2 participating characters, so you can't trigger it if there is only one.

2) Yes. In the situation you describe, each participating character could be affected by Shameful Display (it could be honored), so it is a legal target. And once you have legal targets, you do as much as you can even if you can't do everything. With 2 ordinary characters, you'd be able to honor one (and then couldn't dishonor the other because of Steward of Laws); with one honored and one ordinary, you'd have to honor the ordinary one and dishonor the honored one (making it ordinary again); with one dishonored and one ordinary, you'd be able to honor either one (and then couldn't dishonor the other).


  • mplain likes this

#3
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 810 posts

See question #7 in the topic Gaffa's bunch of questions from GenCon.