Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Ser Barristan Selmy (TS)

- - - - -

Best Answer Ironswimsuit , 29 September 2017 - 06:44 PM

http://thronesdb.com...sreference#Save

 

  • If an aspect of an ability that removes a card from play is followed by the text "cannot be saved," players cannot attempt to save that card.
Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
Ironswimsuit

Ironswimsuit

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1077 posts

Can Barristan use his interrupt to stand even if the Lord/Lady cannot be saved from the kill effect?

 

I guess the real question is, is the dying character an eligible target for the ability even though it cannot fully resolve?



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1171 posts
  • If a constant ability or lasting effect imposes a condition upon a card that would continually drive it from play (for example, a lasting effect that applies to a character over a period of time, and kills that character if its STR is 0), any attempt to save the card must also remedy the ongoing condition. Otherwise, upon resolution of the save attempt, the card is immediately re-exposed to the ongoing condition, and removed from play. Therefore, if the save effect does not also remedy the ongoing condition, it cannot be initiated, as the effect has no potential to change the game state. As such, using a duplicate to save from such an ongoing condition is also prohibited.


#3
Ironswimsuit

Ironswimsuit

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1077 posts
✓  Best Answer

http://thronesdb.com...sreference#Save

 

  • If an aspect of an ability that removes a card from play is followed by the text "cannot be saved," players cannot attempt to save that card.