Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Hoth Luke and Lure of the Dark Side


Best Answer dbmeboy , 04 October 2017 - 12:14 AM

Sounds like you have it correct.  If Lure of the Darkside takes control of the Speeder or Fighter that Luke is attached to, Luke is discarded.  His ability does not save him.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
WookieeRoar

WookieeRoar

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 86 posts

If LS has Hoth Luke piloting a friendly fighter or speeder, and loses control over that unit due a completed Lure of the Dark Side ("Reaction: After this mission is completed, take control of a target unit with 4 or fewer printed Force icons") I understand that Luke will not stay attached to the unit because the now DS unit is no longer friendly and Hoth Luke can only be attached on a friendly speeder or fighter ("This card may enter play as an enhancement on a friendly Speeder or Fighter unit")

 

However, since the unit doesn't leave play, does this mean that Luke's secondary power ("If enhanced unit leaves play, put this card into play as a unit.") will not trigger and thus not allow him to stay on the LS board?



#2
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3781 posts
✓  Best Answer

Sounds like you have it correct.  If Lure of the Darkside takes control of the Speeder or Fighter that Luke is attached to, Luke is discarded.  His ability does not save him.



#3
Miximus2

Miximus2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Didnt enhancements stay attached with a control switch though? I believe this was ruled for enhancement R2D2.

#4
TheNameWasTaken

TheNameWasTaken

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts

They generally do, but attachment legality is recalculated constantly, and Luke's ability only lets him enhance friendly units. The moment the speeder changes control, Luke is in an illegal attachment state and is discarded. 


  • punkeedo likes this

#5
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts

Didnt enhancements stay attached with a control switch though? I believe this was ruled for enhancement R2D2.


R2D2's Enhancements have no attachment conditions so they are kind of a special "designer said so" rule all to themselves.

Enhancements remain in control of the player that played them. Most enhancements have enhancement conditions and those conditions change the enhancement falls off - so for example "enhance friendly unit" falls off when a unit switches sides and is no longer friendly.

Technically (the Tarkin Rule) all Enhancements need a Enhancement condition to stay in play, which is why when Enhancements are blanked by Tarkin they fall off. R2's Enhancements are the exception to this rule. They conform more with stacking rules for cards like Hidden Grove and A Hero's Beginning.

I definitely wouldn't use the R2 Enhancemeng ruling as proof. It is an exception made primarily so the mechanic can work in the first place.
  • punkeedo and Miximus2 like this

#6
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3781 posts
R2 enhancements are a little different because the text that allows them to be attached is from R2 instead of the enhancement... And because designer said so.
  • punkeedo likes this

#7
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts

R2 enhancements are a little different because the text that allows them to be attached is from R2 instead of the enhancement... And because designer said so.


Pretty much because the designer said so. Otherwise they don't work because they should be treated the same.

I'm fine with designer said so. It's totally the intent. It's a shame that they just can't use R2 enhancements as a base rule for how blank enhancements work but we are well passed the point of no return on that one.
  • punkeedo likes this