Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

FAQ 4.21 questions


Best Answer Caal , 24 October 2017 - 02:40 PM

Yes Nate answers redirect to Rulebook Page 27

From the rulebook, page 27, under “In Play and Out of Play” :

“Card effects only interact with, and can only target, cards that are in play, unless the effect text specifically refers to an out of play card or area.”

So, the default for deriving information from cards a player controls only refers to the cards a player controls that are in play. Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 571 posts
Just posted this to the devs. Will keep you posted.

FAQ 4.21

A player controls the cards in his or her out-of- play game areas (such as the hand, objective deck, victory pile, and discard pile).

Q: Is it an error?

Q2 : If not how do you factor it with :
- hidden states? (hand, objective deck, command deck, facedown edge stack, facedown attachement,...)
- derived informations? (previously revealed but inchanged hands, know decklists in double élimination rounds,...)

As exemples :
- How many icons does Captain Rex gains when you have a Sith and a Navy objectives in the victory pile, a Smuggler card in you discard pile, a Jedi card in previously revealed and unchanged hand, but only Rebel cards on the table?
- How many damage capacity does a Bogwing have when you're playing a 10 Jedi objective deck that your opponent is aware of, because you made your list public for tour double elimination tournament bracket?

To sum it up, does the FAQ needs an errata?

#2
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3717 posts

Answer *should* be that card effects don't interact (including referencing) out-of-play cards unless the explicitly say they do.  FAQ may need to tighten up the wording of the respective sections to make it more clear.  But since you've submitted to FFG, I'll leave this "unsolved" until you hear back from them.



#3
Lertush

Lertush

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 154 posts

I had similar questions in context of Rebel Saboteur vs events (here). There are several aspects that can be interesting for you. 

 

The p. (4.21) Control and Ownership of the new FAQ directly points that "a player controls the cards in his or her out-of-play game areas (such as the hand, objective 

deck, victory pile, and discard pile)".
 
Also, as dbmeboy mentioned, page 27 of the Rulebook reads "Card effects only interact with, and can only target, cards that are in play, unless the effect text specifically
refers to an out-of-play card or area."
 
The interesting moment is that Rebel Saboteur ("Interrupt: When an opponent triggers an ability on an in-faction card he controls, spend 1 resource and discard this unit from your hand to cancel that ability’s effects.") still can cancel effect triggered from opponent's out-of-play card. That's because "When an opponent triggers an ability on an in-faction card he controls" isn't Rebel Saboteur's effect, but triggering condition!
 
Due to the p. (4.5) Card Effects of the FAQ, "triggering conditions and costs are not considered effects", so they can interact with out-of-play cards.


#4
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 571 posts
✓  Best Answer
Yes Nate answers redirect to Rulebook Page 27

From the rulebook, page 27, under “In Play and Out of Play” :

“Card effects only interact with, and can only target, cards that are in play, unless the effect text specifically refers to an out of play card or area.”

So, the default for deriving information from cards a player controls only refers to the cards a player controls that are in play.
  • Rio likes this

#5
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 571 posts
And nice catch on the effect vs triggering condition for out of play control in the Rebel Saboteur's case

#6
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3717 posts

Just to confirm, you got response from Nate via FFG, right?


  • punkeedo likes this

#7
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 571 posts
Yes indeed
  • dbmeboy likes this