Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Let The Wookie Win vs Effecf Cancel


Best Answer TheNameWasTaken , 31 October 2017 - 08:08 PM

The only cost for LTWW is the resource cost. If the effects are cancelled, no damage is dealt to anyone.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
Relevant text
Action: Deal 1 damage to a target friendly unit. Then, deal 1 damage to a target non-Vehicle unit.

Is the entirety of this action the Effect? At first it seems like damaging you unit is a cost but looking at it again you need to target the friendly unit and there is no “to” clause. It reads a lot more like an Effect followed by a conditional effect.

Obviously this matters in terms of Effect cancel. If the cost is just play the card then Effect cancel means nothing happens. If the cost is the damage as well then that happens before the Effect cancel kicks in.

#2
TheNameWasTaken

TheNameWasTaken

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 478 posts
✓  Best Answer

The only cost for LTWW is the resource cost. If the effects are cancelled, no damage is dealt to anyone.



#3
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts

The only cost for LTWW is the resource cost. If the effects are cancelled, no damage is dealt to anyone.


Thanks that was my assumption as well but I wanted some backup.

#4
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3787 posts

Consider it backed up.  This also has some interesting interactions with replacement effects and protect.  While costs can be replaced/displaced, that doesn't work for then abilities.  Unless the originally targeted unit takes the damage, you don't get the 2nd damage.