Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Strength Boosts, Strangler, and Randyll Tarly

- - - - -

Best Answer colonialbob , 14 November 2017 - 02:02 AM

 

No, he does not stand. At the time Growing Strong is played, Strangler prevents his STR from increasing. At the end of the challenge, his STR will increase from 1 to 7 (assuming no other modifiers), but this increase will be due to the cessation of Stranger’s ability. As the rules state that the cessation of a constant ability is not considered to be generating a game state change by a card effect, Randyll’s ability cannot be triggered in this case.

 

[Danny Schaefer, 13.11.2017]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
colonialbob

colonialbob

    Newbie

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Question:

 

If Randyll has Strangler on him, and then during a challenge somebody uses Growing Strong (or any other 'until the end of phase' + STR effect), can he stand once the challenge is over?



#2
colonialbob

colonialbob

    Newbie

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
✓  Best Answer

 

No, he does not stand. At the time Growing Strong is played, Strangler prevents his STR from increasing. At the end of the challenge, his STR will increase from 1 to 7 (assuming no other modifiers), but this increase will be due to the cessation of Stranger’s ability. As the rules state that the cessation of a constant ability is not considered to be generating a game state change by a card effect, Randyll’s ability cannot be triggered in this case.

 

[Danny Schaefer, 13.11.2017]


  • istaril likes this