Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

At Prince Doran's Behest questions

- - - - -

Best Answer colonialbob , 06 December 2017 - 01:07 AM

Response:

 

 

 

1. The first player chooses the order in which the remaining When Revealed abilities resolve. There is no nested sequence; the newly revealed plot is simply another plot with a When Revealed ability to be resolved as part of step III. Initiative has already been compared in step I, so there will be no new initiative comparison when the new plot is revealed in step III.
 
2. Correct. If a player has no cards in his or her plot deck, that player cannot choose a new plot card to reveal, and the When Revealed fails to resolve successfully.
 
3. Correct. During the challenges phase, the Rains deck will have access to both the Scheme and non-Scheme cards in its plot deck, and will be able to choose any of them for Doran’s Behest.

 

[Danny Schaefer, 5.12.2017]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
colonialbob

colonialbob

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

Questions:

 

1. A player flips Doran's Behest, their opponent flips any other plot with a When Revealed effect. Doran's Behest is chosen to resolve first, and the Martell player reveals a new plot with a When Revealed effect. Which When Revealed effect resolves first? Is it a nested sequence? Does first player pick whichever currently showing When Revealed effect they want to resolve first? Because the new plot was revealed during the plot phase is initiative compared again and potentially a new first player chosen? (ref the note under step II in 1.3 Reveal Plots)

 
2. If Doran's Behest is the last plot of a player's plot deck, does the When Revealed simply fail to successfully resolve?
 
3. If Doran's Behest is copied by a player during the challenges phase with Rains of Castamere (most likely though Pulling the Strings), that player can reveal any plot in their plot deck (Scheme or not), correct?


#2
colonialbob

colonialbob

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts
✓  Best Answer

Response:

 

 

 

1. The first player chooses the order in which the remaining When Revealed abilities resolve. There is no nested sequence; the newly revealed plot is simply another plot with a When Revealed ability to be resolved as part of step III. Initiative has already been compared in step I, so there will be no new initiative comparison when the new plot is revealed in step III.
 
2. Correct. If a player has no cards in his or her plot deck, that player cannot choose a new plot card to reveal, and the When Revealed fails to resolve successfully.
 
3. Correct. During the challenges phase, the Rains deck will have access to both the Scheme and non-Scheme cards in its plot deck, and will be able to choose any of them for Doran’s Behest.

 

[Danny Schaefer, 5.12.2017]


  • gramyotron and ystros like this

#3
wordsmith

wordsmith

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

What would be the interaction between At Prince Doran's Behest and Varys’s Riddle ?

Text on Varys’s Riddle:
When Revealed: Initiate the when revealed ability on a revealed non-Riddle plot card as if you had just revealed it.


Varys’s Riddle player will most likely win the initiative. If he decides to go 1st, he can either:
a.) resolve Varys’s Riddle 1st and then reveal a new plot
b.) let At Prince Doran's Behest resolve 1st, let the opponent to reveal a new plot and then Varys's Riddle will initiate the "When revealed, non-riddle" ability on that new plot - if there's any.

Correct?

There could be interesting interaction for the case a.) as the player with Varys's Riddle can technically reveal At Prince Doran's Behest as a new plot - and then wait for the opponent to reveal a new plot and then reveal his new plot.
Also the player who originally revealed At Prince Doran's Behest can reveal Varys's Riddle as a new plot, which could in case b.) counter the other Varys's Riddle to fizzle it.


  • mplain likes this

#4
Odrl

Odrl

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Since Danny Schaefer didn't really elaborate, any idea why number 1 was ruled the way it was? Why exactly is it not a nested sequence?



#5
wordsmith

wordsmith

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Since Danny Schaefer didn't really elaborate, any idea why number 1 was ruled the way it was? Why exactly is it not a nested sequence?

 

I think it might to do something with Nested abilities are in regards Interrupts/Reactions only.

 

When Revealed ability is resolved simply as it is decribed: 1st player decides the sequence of resolving those.


  • Odrl and colonialbob like this

#6
colonialbob

colonialbob

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

What would be the interaction between At Prince Doran's Behest and Varys’s Riddle ?

Text on Varys’s Riddle:
When Revealed: Initiate the when revealed ability on a revealed non-Riddle plot card as if you had just revealed it.


Varys’s Riddle player will most likely win the initiative. If he decides to go 1st, he can either:
a.) resolve Varys’s Riddle 1st and then reveal a new plot
b.) let At Prince Doran's Behest resolve 1st, let the opponent to reveal a new plot and then Varys's Riddle will initiate the "When revealed, non-riddle" ability on that new plot - if there's any.

Correct?

There could be interesting interaction for the case a.) as the player with Varys's Riddle can technically reveal At Prince Doran's Behest as a new plot - and then wait for the opponent to reveal a new plot and then reveal his new plot.
Also the player who originally revealed At Prince Doran's Behest can reveal Varys's Riddle as a new plot, which could in case b.) counter the other Varys's Riddle to fizzle it.

All this is correct.

Since Danny Schaefer didn't really elaborate, any idea why number 1 was ruled the way it was? Why exactly is it not a nested sequence?

Wordsmith is right - nested sequences refer to triggering conditions, while When Revealed plots are resolved by choice of first player per their own rules. In essence they seem similar but are governed by different rules.
  • Odrl likes this