Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Timing of Jawa Warrior and Jawa Blaster


Best Answer Thaliak , 26 March 2018 - 05:05 PM

The combo works. There is an action window after every strike, including the final strike. During each action window, players take turns playing actions, starting with the player whose turn it is and continuing until both players pass. So the sequence would be:
1. The Dark Side player strikes with the vehicle.
2. An action window opens. The Dark Side passes on his opportunity to play an action.
3. The Light Side player uses an action to play a Jawa Warrior.
4. The Dark Side has an opportunity to play an action. For example, the Dark Side could play Force Choke to kill the Jawa Warrior before it strikes. But let's assume the Dark Side passes.
5. The Light Side player uses the action on the Jawa Blaster to put it into play attached to the Jawa Warrior.
6. The Dark Side once again has an opportunity to play an action. Again, the player passes.
7. The action window closes. It is now the Light Side Player's turn to strike. The Light Side chooses to strike with the two-gun Jawa, dealing 4 damage to the exhausted vehicle and hopefully destroying it.
8. An action window opens. Both players pass on their opportunity to play an action.
9. Since all units are focused, the engagement ends.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
beliar34

beliar34

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Hello,

 

I am rather sure that this "combo" is correct, but not 100%:

DS attacks with any vehicle, LS does not oppose.

After DS vehicle strikes, can LS spend 1 resource to play a Jawa Warrior from hand and pay 1 resource to attach Jawa Blaster (from discard pile) to that Jawa Warrior?

 

The two cards read:
Action: During an engagement, play this unit from your hand as a participating unit on your side.

Action: Spend 1 resource to put this enhancement into play from your discard pile.

 

Only possible problem I see with this is whether it is still "During the engagement" after all DS units have struck and whether a single Action window is sufficient to play both the Warrior and the Blaster.

 

If possible, this Jawa Warrior should then be able to deal 4 damage to the attacking vehicle and cancel the unopposed bonus, correct?

 

Sorry for stacking multiple questions into one, but it seems like a relevant case.



#2
Thaliak

Thaliak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 379 posts
✓  Best Answer

The combo works. There is an action window after every strike, including the final strike. During each action window, players take turns playing actions, starting with the player whose turn it is and continuing until both players pass. So the sequence would be:
1. The Dark Side player strikes with the vehicle.
2. An action window opens. The Dark Side passes on his opportunity to play an action.
3. The Light Side player uses an action to play a Jawa Warrior.
4. The Dark Side has an opportunity to play an action. For example, the Dark Side could play Force Choke to kill the Jawa Warrior before it strikes. But let's assume the Dark Side passes.
5. The Light Side player uses the action on the Jawa Blaster to put it into play attached to the Jawa Warrior.
6. The Dark Side once again has an opportunity to play an action. Again, the player passes.
7. The action window closes. It is now the Light Side Player's turn to strike. The Light Side chooses to strike with the two-gun Jawa, dealing 4 damage to the exhausted vehicle and hopefully destroying it.
8. An action window opens. Both players pass on their opportunity to play an action.
9. Since all units are focused, the engagement ends.



#3
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts
When in doubt on timing things like this, check out the flow chart in the back of the rule book. It can be quite helpful.

#4
Frtn

Frtn

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts

...
1. The Dark Side player strikes with the vehicle.
2. An action window opens. The Dark Side passes on his opportunity to play an action.
...

I might be wrong but isn't strike considered as action? 
And even if it's not, shouldn't LS player have opportunity to do an action after DS player strike?

I am asking just in case of falcon, because this reasoning would simply allow falcon to strike and then have an action to return it to hand after its strike.



#5
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts
Striking is not an Action. It is a framework step that occurs during conflicts (again, the flowchart may be helpful for visualization).

The active player (ie player whose turn it is) gets the first action in any action window.

Yes, the LS player can generally bounce the Falcon before the DS player can take an action (assuming it is attacking... if the Falcon is defending then DS will have the first action after it strikes).
  • Frtn likes this

#6
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts
Also, sorry if it sounds like I’m being short/rude. Work blocks cgdb, so I’m posting quickly when I have both a free moment and phone signal.

#7
beliar34

beliar34

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Thank you all!