Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Dice Ibegon and declared engagements


Best Answer dbmeboy , 29 March 2018 - 08:57 PM

Using Dice still counts as declaring an engagement against the objective.

Note that your still *declaring* attackers (the other half of declaring an engagement). The wording is a little weird because it's a very complicated effect (it's basically rewriting the entire declaring an engagement rules in the space of a card text box). Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
normanh

normanh

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 522 posts

Dice Ibegon's text:

"Interrupt: When you would declare an engagement, target an eligible enemy objective instead. Your opponent must declare defending units first, if desired. You must then declare at least 1 attacking unit, if able. Engage the targeted objective. (Limit once per turn.)"

 

The rulebook states that you can only declare an engagement against a given objective once per turn. Dice's text just "targets" an enemy objective, then "engages" it. You technically do not "declare" against the objective, as the triggered ability interrupts via "when you would declare an engagement". 

 

Thus, the correct interpretation of this ability seems to be that Dice's ability does not count as a declared engagement, and thus you could use it to attack the same objective twice in a turn.

 

Can our resident rules gurus confirm or clarify?



#2
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3865 posts
✓  Best Answer
Using Dice still counts as declaring an engagement against the objective.

Note that your still *declaring* attackers (the other half of declaring an engagement). The wording is a little weird because it's a very complicated effect (it's basically rewriting the entire declaring an engagement rules in the space of a card text box).