Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Capital Centers

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
spellfire

spellfire

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Quick question about Capital Center cards such as Cathedral of Sigmar.  Are their Actions one time things?  My thinking is that because the Actions generally read " Do X, then do Y", if you can't do X, then Y cannot then occur?  I think all of them read "Action: ...remove a resource token from this card.  Then, if there are no resource tokens...".  So after you've carried out that Action of removing the last resource token and activated the "then..." part, that card is done for the rest of the game (unless removed and replayed)?

 

Also, if an Action doesn't stipulate "Limit once per turn", can you use it multiple times in a turn?



#2
Tobogan

Tobogan

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

From the FAQ:

 

Q: Can I trigger the Action on a Capital Center if there are no tokens on the card?

A: If there is no token to remove, you cannot gain the benefit of the Capital Center. The word “Then” means that the previous ability in the effect must have resolved successfully before the “Then” clause is resolved itself. So you can trigger the Action, but it will have no effect.

 

For the second question, you can do it once, since it's a triggered action and you can only activate it once per trigger condition, in this case, Beginning the turn. If you could Begin the turn several times per turn, you could trigger it several times, but that's not the case:

 

Trigger Conditions (v1.4)

A trigger condition is anything that must happen before a certain card ability can be triggered. This could be playing a card, using another card ability, or even a Constant Effect.

For example: The trigger condition on Walking Sacrifice (AU 23) is “When this unit leaves play...” for the unit must leave play before the Forced Effect can trigger. Another example of a trigger condition is “At the beginning of your turn...” which is found on cards such as Rat Ogres (CC 55) and Cloud of Flies (CS 93)

 

Triggered Actions (formerly Response Actions) (v1.4)

Triggered Actions are a subset of Actions that contain a trigger condition. Each Triggered Action can be triggered once per copy of the Triggered Action and only once per trigger condition. If this trigger condition is met during the resolution of other effects (or outside of an Action Window) then the Triggered Action must be played during the first available opportunity once an Action Window opens, or it cannot be played at all.

For example: Rat Ogres (CC 55) reads “Action: At the beginning of your turn, restore all Skaven units.” The trigger is at the beginning of your turn, and the action can only be triggered once per copy of the card in play.


  • spellfire likes this

#3
spellfire

spellfire

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

snip

 

Thanks for the clarification. 



#4
Track8

Track8

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts

It's worth pointing out that Eltharion the Grim is even able to add resource tokens to cards that don't already have resource tokens.  Therefore, he can put a resource token on a capital center that's already triggered its effect, enabling it to trigger again.  One or two turns with the Eatine War Room, and Eltharion will win you the game.


  • spellfire likes this