Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Tycho Nestoris + decking / going to time

- - - - -

Best Answer kaustin , 16 July 2018 - 05:19 PM

Q:

  • What happens in Joust if I control Tycho Nestoris when my opponent runs out of cards in his deck (and is thereby eliminated from the game)?
  • What happens if a tournament game goes to time with one player having 15 power and controlling Tycho?
  • What happens if a player controls Tycho at the end of a Melee game?

A:

  • If a player controls Tycho Nestoris and his “You cannot win the game” ability is active, nothing within the game rules can cause that player to win the game. If all of that player’s opponents are eliminated, the game ends with no winner. (In a tournament, this is recorded as a loss for each player.)
  • If a tournament game goes to time with a player controlling Tycho at 15 power, that player’s opponent receives a modified win, as that opponent is considered to be closer to their victory condition. If a tournament game goes to time with both players controlling Tycho, both players receive a loss.
  • If a player controls Tycho at the end of a Melee game, the best placement that player can achieve is 2nd place. If a tournament Melee game goes to time and a player controlling Tycho has the highest power total, the player with the next-highest power total is the winner of the game.
  • Tycho does not prevent a player from winning if that player’s opponent concedes the game.

[Official ruling]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1412 posts

Tycho Nestoris

You cannot win the game.
Action: Pay 6 gold to treat Tycho Nestoris’s printed text box as if it were blank (except for Traits) until the end of the phase.
+3 Income.


- What happens if my opponent runs out of cards in his deck? Technically this does not directly make me win the game.

RRG "Winning the Game" says:
"A player is eliminated from the game when his or her draw deck has no cards remaining. If all of a player's opponents are eliminated from the game, the remaining player wins the game."
So if my opponent is eliminated, do I keep playing solitaire until I get rid of Tycho or deck myself? Or do some special rules for winning and elimination apply in Joust?

 

- What happens if a tournament game goes to time with one of the players having 15 power and controlling Tycho? Is it a draw, a modified win, or a full win?



#2
kaustin

kaustin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
✓  Best Answer

Q:

  • What happens in Joust if I control Tycho Nestoris when my opponent runs out of cards in his deck (and is thereby eliminated from the game)?
  • What happens if a tournament game goes to time with one player having 15 power and controlling Tycho?
  • What happens if a player controls Tycho at the end of a Melee game?

A:

  • If a player controls Tycho Nestoris and his “You cannot win the game” ability is active, nothing within the game rules can cause that player to win the game. If all of that player’s opponents are eliminated, the game ends with no winner. (In a tournament, this is recorded as a loss for each player.)
  • If a tournament game goes to time with a player controlling Tycho at 15 power, that player’s opponent receives a modified win, as that opponent is considered to be closer to their victory condition. If a tournament game goes to time with both players controlling Tycho, both players receive a loss.
  • If a player controls Tycho at the end of a Melee game, the best placement that player can achieve is 2nd place. If a tournament Melee game goes to time and a player controlling Tycho has the highest power total, the player with the next-highest power total is the winner of the game.
  • Tycho does not prevent a player from winning if that player’s opponent concedes the game.

[Official ruling]