Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Valyrian's Crew

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 16 August 2018 - 08:12 AM

I take control of my opponent's Valyrian's Crew that already has some facedown cards attached to it. Naturally, I do not take control of the facedown cards, as with any other attachments in play.
Valyrian's Crew says I can play attached cards as if they were in my hand.
RRG "Facedown Cards" says "A player may look at the identity of any facedown card that is in play and under his or her control".
I do not control these facedown cards, so I cannot look at them, but I can play them as if they were in my hand... So how does this work?


 
You may look at them. While the game does not explicitly give you permission to look at those facedown cards, the card does give you permission to marshal or play them as if they were in your hand. This implicitly also grants you permission to look at those cards, as part of determining whether they can be legally played.

[Danny Schaefer, 16.08.2018]
 

Does Valyrian's Crew allow me to marshal cards into shadows?

 

Yes. However, the card will be put into its owner’s shadows area, per the Ownership and Control rules: “If a card would enter an out of play area of a player who does not own the card, the card is placed in its owner’s equivalent out of play area instead."
 
[Danny Schaefer, 04.09.2018]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts

I take control of my opponent's Valyrian's Crew that already has some facedown cards attached to it. Naturally, I do not take control of the facedown cards, as with any other attachments in play.
Valyrian's Crew says I can play attached cards as if they were in my hand.
RRG "Facedown Cards" says "A player may look at the identity of any facedown card that is in play and under his or her control".
I do not control these facedown cards, so I cannot look at them, but I can play them as if they were in my hand... So how does this work?
 

Valyrian's Crew

You may marshal or play facedown cards attached to Valyrian's Crew as if they were in your hand.

Reaction: After you win a challenge in which Valyrian's Crew is attacking, attach the top card of the losing opponent's deck to Valyrian's Crew facedown under your control, as an attachment with terminal.



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts
✓  Best Answer

I take control of my opponent's Valyrian's Crew that already has some facedown cards attached to it. Naturally, I do not take control of the facedown cards, as with any other attachments in play.
Valyrian's Crew says I can play attached cards as if they were in my hand.
RRG "Facedown Cards" says "A player may look at the identity of any facedown card that is in play and under his or her control".
I do not control these facedown cards, so I cannot look at them, but I can play them as if they were in my hand... So how does this work?


 
You may look at them. While the game does not explicitly give you permission to look at those facedown cards, the card does give you permission to marshal or play them as if they were in your hand. This implicitly also grants you permission to look at those cards, as part of determining whether they can be legally played.

[Danny Schaefer, 16.08.2018]
 

Does Valyrian's Crew allow me to marshal cards into shadows?

 

Yes. However, the card will be put into its owner’s shadows area, per the Ownership and Control rules: “If a card would enter an out of play area of a player who does not own the card, the card is placed in its owner’s equivalent out of play area instead."
 
[Danny Schaefer, 04.09.2018]



#3
lcowley19

lcowley19

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
How does this work then if a character that is in my dead pile, is attached to valerians crew? Can they still marshal or play that character even though it is dead?

#4
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1052 posts

The restrictions on marshaling unique cards (or putting them into play) are still in force, just like they are for cards that are actually in your hand.