Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Priest of Old Wyk + Traitor to the Crown

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 16 August 2018 - 08:19 AM

Priest of Old Wyk says it contributes its STR to your total for dominance. Traitor to the Crown says it does not. Which card effect wins? We know that "cannot" trumps "can" because RRG says "cannot is absolute", but neither of these cards says "cannot", and there doesn't seem to be any general rule about restrictions trumping permissions...


Traitor’s ability wins. Just as Traitor’s ability overrides the standard game rule that standing characters contribute their STR to dominance, it also overrides card abilities that allow a kneeling character to contribute its STR to dominance.

[Danny Schaefer, 16.08.2018]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts

Priest of Old Wyk says it contributes its STR to your total for dominance. Traitor to the Crown says it does not. Which card effect wins? We know that "cannot" trumps "can" because RRG says "cannot is absolute", but neither of these cards says "cannot", and there doesn't seem to be any general rule about restrictions trumping permissions...
 

Priest of Old Wyk

While there is a Drowned God character in your dead pile, Priest of Old Wyk contributes its STR to your total for dominance even while kneeling.

 

Traitor to the Crown

Attached character does not contribute its STR to challenges or to its controller's total for dominance.



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts
✓  Best Answer

Priest of Old Wyk says it contributes its STR to your total for dominance. Traitor to the Crown says it does not. Which card effect wins? We know that "cannot" trumps "can" because RRG says "cannot is absolute", but neither of these cards says "cannot", and there doesn't seem to be any general rule about restrictions trumping permissions...


Traitor’s ability wins. Just as Traitor’s ability overrides the standard game rule that standing characters contribute their STR to dominance, it also overrides card abilities that allow a kneeling character to contribute its STR to dominance.

[Danny Schaefer, 16.08.2018]