Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Water Gardens + shadows

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 21 September 2018 - 08:46 PM

Water Gardens says: "reduce the cost of the next non-character card you marshal, play, or ambush".
Does this discount apply to:
- marshaling locations, attachments and events into shadows?
- marshaling characters into shadows? (a facedown card is not a character, it has no cardtypes)
- playing events out of shadows?


Water Gardens will not reduce the cost to marshal anything into shadows — basically, anything that affects the marshaling of a card with a certain characteristic will not affect marshaling a card into shadows. The game will look at the card being marshaled into shadows and see that characteristic as undefined (i.e. a card being marshaled into shadows cannot be defined as either “character” or “non-character” — it’s just a card being marshaled into shadows).

Water Gardens does reduce the cost of playing an event out of shadows. Playing an event from shadows is considered to be “playing an event,” and follows the same initiation process as playing an event from hand. By the time the process reaches Step 3 “Apply any modifiers to the cost,” the event can be defined as a “non-character card” that is being played and is thus eligible for the discount.

[Danny Schaefer, 21.09.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1427 posts

Water Gardens says: "reduce the cost of the next non-character card you marshal, play, or ambush".

Does this discount apply to:
- marshaling locations, attachments and events into shadows?
- marshaling characters into shadows? (a facedown card is not a character, it has no cardtypes)
- playing events out of shadows?



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1427 posts
✓  Best Answer

Water Gardens says: "reduce the cost of the next non-character card you marshal, play, or ambush".
Does this discount apply to:
- marshaling locations, attachments and events into shadows?
- marshaling characters into shadows? (a facedown card is not a character, it has no cardtypes)
- playing events out of shadows?


Water Gardens will not reduce the cost to marshal anything into shadows — basically, anything that affects the marshaling of a card with a certain characteristic will not affect marshaling a card into shadows. The game will look at the card being marshaled into shadows and see that characteristic as undefined (i.e. a card being marshaled into shadows cannot be defined as either “character” or “non-character” — it’s just a card being marshaled into shadows).

Water Gardens does reduce the cost of playing an event out of shadows. Playing an event from shadows is considered to be “playing an event,” and follows the same initiation process as playing an event from hand. By the time the process reaches Step 3 “Apply any modifiers to the cost,” the event can be defined as a “non-character card” that is being played and is thus eligible for the discount.

[Danny Schaefer, 21.09.2018]

#3
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1427 posts

Note that this ruling basically says any discounts for playing events also apply to playing events from shadows (List).