When a Martell player has the plot Desperate Attack revealed and plays the event Vengeance for Elia against the attacking player. At that moment at step 4.2.4, the attacking player performs the claim on himself, is the Martell player still considered the defending player and thus raises the claim by 1 on the attacking player’s plot? Or does Martell player stop being the defending player during step 4.2.4 where claim is performed and the attacking player does not need to fulfill increased claim on himself?
In Nate French’s previous ruling, he mentioned that cards only have interactions with Vengeance for Elia if they have reference to resolving claim. Desperate Attack does have reference to effect on claim.
In another one of Nate French’s previous ruling, there was a mention about how there is only 1 defending player after Vengeance for Elia is played.
It seems to imply that the Martell player that played Vengeance for Elia is no longer considered the defending player anymore during claim at step 4.2.4 and thus if he has Desperate attack revealed, it no longer increases the claim of the attacking player. As a reverse example, if a Martell player is attacked by an opponent that has Desperate Attack revealed and he plays Vengeance for Elia. For the purpose of claim, the opponent is both the attacking and defending player. Does his own Desperate Attack increase his own plot from 3 claim to 4 claim?