Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Official Rule Clarifications !!Direct replies FFG only!!


  • Please log in to reply
254 replies to this topic

#1
Tragic

Tragic

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1661 posts
This thread is only for posting replies to official FFG rules questions. If you didn't get the answer directly form FFG please do not post!

If you have extended questions about a card please post a new thread... the idea is for this to grow as a organic FAQ.. just questions and official answers.

You may ask FFG questions directly here!! - If you do please post in this thread for others!!
  • mischraum, Booored and MrCarbohydrate like this

#2
Bazeleel

Bazeleel

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1332 posts
QUESTION
My question is this. What happens when 2 smugglers are a part of the engagement? Do they stack the effect and resolve each fate card 3 times?

Example:

2 smugglers + 1 heat of battle. It would would be able to deal 3 damage to a single unit or 1 damage to 3 different unites.

I can also assume that of ToF is played it does get resolved a second time a new edge battle must take place.

ANSWER
"Hello,

I'm guessing you're asking about the card Secret Informant (LS set 18, card 2&3).

You are correct that if you have 2 of them in an engagement, you would resolve each Fate card you reveal 3 times.

The first time you resolve Twist of Fate, it will cancel the edge battle, closing the window of opportunity for resolving the card a second time.

Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games"

#3
SmokeyJ

SmokeyJ

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 587 posts
Well, maybe not a question others were having, but after the clarification previously that Boba Fett could not capture a character that was destroyed by his damage, I submitted a rules question about the order of Boba Fett's capturing when damaging a character with Old Ben's Spirit, namely whether or not the card was considered destroyed for the purposes of Boba Fett's capturing, if the character was saved first by Old Ben's Spirit then captured by Boba Fett, or if the card was no longer considered damaged since all damage is removed by Old Ben's Spirit:

You can capture the unit in this situation.

The unit was damaged, would have been destroyed, but the destruction was interrupted by the spirit. This does not change that it was damaged by Boba Fett, and since the unit is still in play it can now be captured.


Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games
nfrench@fantasyflightgames.com



#4
leizeQ

leizeQ

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
Credit to SmokeyJ (from another thread):

Rule Question:
If C-3PO is sacrificed to cancel the effects of Force Choke, can an additional Force Choke be played in the same turn, or does the once per turn limit still apply because only the effect of Force Choke is cancelled, not the event itself?

Would this be an application of section 3.1 of the recently released FAQ?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The event was still played, only its effects were canceled. Therefore, the limit prevents another being played that turn.

This is an application of entry 3.1 in the FAQ.

Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

#5
leizeQ

leizeQ

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
One more from FFG forums (credits to Scoob - question, doctormungmung - theory, dbmeboy - post to FFG)




Correct -- the interrupt on Journey to Dagobah triggers before it leaves play, and you are still resolving an objective leaving play, so that you would be able to trigger the newly arrived Decoy.

Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games



On Mar 14, 2013, at 1:26 PM, <> wrote:

Message from:
Matthew Brown




Rule Question:
If A Journey to Dagobah is destroyed and its Interrupt is used to put Decoy at Dantooine into play, can Decoy's Interrupt then be also triggered by the destruction of Journey? It seems like that would work to me as Decoy would be put into play before the destruction of Journey.



#6
pijol

pijol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
1st Question
Hey Rule Master,
Can you please clarify that during 1st turn LS.Can they use Fleeing the Empire reaction?
What I know is that LS skip refresh during 1st turn and hence no shield at first turn?Can you please clarify?

Nate French

The LS player only skips step one of his refresh phase.
At the end of the refresh phase, a shield may still be placed by this effect.
(Note that the card received errata in FAQ 1.0.)
(v1.0) Fleeing the Empire 0056
Should read: “Reaction: After your refresh phase
ends, ...”

Posted Image2nd Question
I have a questions about Subzero Defense.
Do the first unit sacrifice need to have star blast icon or just any first unit that is focused to strike?

Nate French

The first enemy unit that is focused to strike in an engagement that was declared against a Hoth objective. It doesn't matter what icons the unit has
Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

#7
broche

broche

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello,

How work Boba Fett and damage prevention (like shield and lightsaber deflection). Is he considered to have dealt damage if all of his damage are prevented?

Thanks,

#8
MasterJediAdam

MasterJediAdam

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1623 posts

Hello,

How work Boba Fett and damage prevention (like shield and lightsaber deflection). Is he considered to have dealt damage if all of his damage are prevented?

Thanks,


If all damage is prevented then he has not damaged the unit. If the damage is reassigned (like to a protector) then they are captured instead.

#9
TinyGrimes

TinyGrimes

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 392 posts
This is also not the correct thread for these questions. This thread is intended for Official rulings passed down from the Gods at FFG. Free free to make a new thread for any ruling questions.

#10
Vaapad

Vaapad

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 560 posts
I had the same question regarding Get Me Solo as came up on the May 1 Smuggler's Den Podcast. Below are my questions to Nate French and his answers:

Me: The card "get me solo" allows a player to name a unit and capture all copies of that unit in his opponent's hand. My question: how precise does the player have to be in naming a unit? For instance, if the dark side player names "Princess Leia," will that capture Leia Organa? It's clear what unit the player is referring to, but the name technically was wrong. Or more nebulously, what if they say "hiding Jedi" rather than "Jedi in Hiding?" Perhaps the player follows up by saying, "you know, two cost, 1 damage capacity, force user, 3 icons." The player clearly knows the card, but he named it wrong. As someone who will be serving as a TO in a few weeks, I'd like some guidance on how to rule in this kind of scenario.

Nate: In a tournament situation, it is best to follow the instructions on the card. As the card instructs a player to name a card, he must name the title of the card. Describing a card will not meet the effect's requirement.

After listening to the smuggler's den, Me: Thanks Nate. One follow-up question about a close case. Perhaps the answer will be, "use your discretion," but if so, I guess I'd be curious to know how you would rule it in a tournament. Say the card the DS player names is "ACC1 Speeder Tank." If course, that's one letter off; the actual title is AAC1 Speeder Tank. It seems ludicrous to rule that the DS player can't capture the speeder tank from the LS player's hand, but technically he got the card title wrong ...

Nate: As players can look at the cards in an opponent's play area and discard pile, and also have a memory bank of exact titles of powerful cards that can beat them, as well as means to look at an opponent's hand, it is unlikely that a player will just be blindly "guessing" at cards he does not know the exact title of. If he does, and makes an error, and an opponent calls him on the error (some players wouldn't even notice such a thing), I would not be inclined to reward the error by ruling in favor of the player who misnamed the card. In other words, if a player is willing to "guess," either about the existence of a card, or about the exact title of a card, he must be willing to live with the consequences that his guess was wrong. I should qualify that that is how I would rule in such a situation. I do advocate that, as a TO, you do use your best discretion in such cases. For instance, is one player being intentionally vague in naming cards with an attempt to "hit" multiple targets? Or is it clear to the other player what was named, and he is trying to raise a non-issue. ("You didn't say "dash.") My first reaction would be letter of the law, although if there is any sense that a player is attempting to abuse the letter of the law, it's not outside the realm of possibility that I would rule in the spirit of good sportsmanship.
  • mischraum and Tjglaser like this

#11
TinyGrimes

TinyGrimes

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 392 posts
You would not be able to use the protect keyword if the protecting unit cannot be damaged.



Nate French



Rule Question:
Hey there,

There is a meta defining question that needs to be addressed before our regional this weekend if you can.

The issue centers around the protect/shield abilities of the Guardian of Peace and the Objective, Preparation for Battle.

If the Guardian of Peace is shielded and the dial is 4 or lower she cannot take any damage. Does this mean she can use her protect ability to divert the first 2 damage of every strike to her and not get damaged? Or does this mean since she cannot take damage she is not able to use her protect ability.



#12
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3910 posts
This is more a tournament question, but I've seen it come up:


The "bye" should be treated as a player who loses all his games.

This means that if a player has no opponent for a round, he is considered to have won both games for that round. (This happens both with byes, and if an opponent doesn't show up for his match.)

There are a couple implications for the bye here:

1) The bye is random in the first round.

2) In all subsequent rounds, the bye, with 0 match points, is always at the bottom of the swiss standings. (This means that a player from the lowest ranked group will receive the bye.)

3) The bye contributes no points to a player's strength of schedule.


On Feb 28, 2013, at 5:50 AM, wrote:

Message from:
Matthew Brown



Rule Question:
Quick tournament rules clarification, since it's come up in the forums and doesn't have universal agreement:
In a tournament with an odd number of players, how many points does the player receiving the "bye" earn? Thanks.



Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

#13
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3910 posts
The value of Edge (x) would stack from multiple sources. This is true whether the multiple sources are from different units participating in a single engagement, or from a single unit gaining Edge from multiple cards: X is going to be cumulative.

Non-value dependent keywords are a case where you either have the keyword or you don't and if you have it the effect resolves. Having it multiple times does not alter the effect. So they do not stack in the sense that having Elite "twice" is better than having Elite "once." Hypothetically, it could become mildly useful in the sense that a unit could have Elite, be gaining Elite from an enhancement, and then encounter an ill-effect that says something like "Target unit loses Elite until the end of the phase." This would be a case where the equation would be "2 instances of Elite, and 1 instance of losing Elite; the unit still has Elite."

Nate

On Mar 20, 2013, at 5:36 AM,wrote:

Message from:
Matthew Brown




Rule Question:
When a card gains the Edge keyword from multiple sources (e.g. 2 copies of Hoth Operations with a Speeder), do those instances of Edge stack? A similar question for Elite and Shielding (though I can't think of any ways to double up Elite yet)

#14
Vaapad

Vaapad

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 560 posts
Me: If a DS player forgets to advance the Death Star dial during his balance phase and notices that he forgot later during that turn, can he advance it? I know it's a game mechanic that happens automatically, but at some point the onus is on the player and it would become too late, no?

Nate: This is actually a tricky question, in that "forgetting" can be used by the dark side player to create an advantage. For instance, if it is left at 8, the light side player might be less inclined to defend and objective than if it was at 10...so the DS player conveniently "forgets," plays through the conflict phase and destroys an objective, and only then claims, "Oh, I forgot to advance the dial in the balance phase..." This could have been an honest mistake, or it could have been angle shooting. Best practice on "forgotten" or overlooked things that were mandatory, but missed by both players, is that the situation can be corrected as long as neither player has made any decisions since the forgotten moment. So if they catch it quickly, at the beginning of the next phase, for instance, it can be corrected. If some play has gone by, however, it becomes a situation where "you both missed it at the time, and decisions have been made based on the consequential game state, so it's too late to go back now." Note that it is mandatory that the dial advances, so if I was judging and I noticed the players forget to advance it, I would immediately ask that it be advanced. (It's ok for a judge to point out missed game steps or mandatory effects (Forced and passive consequences); be careful, though, in that you don't point out reactions or interrupt effects -- optional effects are on the onus of the controlling player to notice and trigger


Note: Post edited for formatting
  • mischraum likes this

#15
pijol

pijol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

One engagement can be declared against each objective. Using Secret of Yavin 4 does not change which objective was declared against, it only changes which objective the engagement resolves against.

So if you declare against Objective #1, and it gets moved to Secret of Yavin 4, you have still used your declaration against Objective #1, and cannot declare against objective #1 again.

You can still declare your next engagement against Secret of Yavin 4, as you have not yet declared against it this turn. (The engagement was still declared against Objective #1.)


Message from:
Pijol

Rule Question:
Hey FFG,

I would like to ask you about The Secret of Yavin 4. For example if i engage The Secret of Yavin 4 first and afterwards engage other objective,can the interupt of The Secret of Yavin 4 being used?From what I know u cant engaged an objective twice.Can you verify this.Thank you



#16
pijol

pijol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
The Tie Fighter is the only enemy unit that has left play. (The pilot was in play as an enhancement.) You can draw 1 card.

Message from:
Pijol

Rule Question:
Hi FFG,

I would ask you about Smuggler & Spies Objective Renegade Squadron Mobilization.If let say i kill a tie fighter with a Black Squadron Pilot enchancement.How many cards do i draw?

Thank you



#17
SmokeyJ

SmokeyJ

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 587 posts
Rules Question:
Echo Base Shield Generator states:
Action: Place 1 damage on this enhancement to place 1 shield on a target unit or Hoth objective. Then, if this enhancement has 3 or more damage on it, return it to your hand. (Limit once per turn.)

If you place a 3rd damage on the shield generator during an action window prior to or during your deployment phase (but on your turn), can the shield generator then be redeployed that turn and use the action again, or does the once per turn limit on the action remain regardless of the generators leaving play?

Nate French: When it leaves play and re-enters play, the game treats it as an entirely new copy of the card, with no memory of the previous time it was in play. So the limit is reset when the card re-enters play.

#18
mischraum

mischraum

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts
Rules Question:
If I play Wedge Antilles "as an enhancement" can I lower the cost with "In You Must go"?

Nate French: Yes, you can.

#19
pijol

pijol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Rule Question:
Hi FFG,

For Imperial Navy Objective Deploy the Fleet.Can player damaged the objective multiple times to reduce the cost of capital ship? For example damage Deploy the Fleet twice to reduce capital ships by 2.

Nate French :
It's an action, so you can use it multiple times and stack the effect for a single ship.

Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games


#20
pijol

pijol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Rule Question:
Hi FFG,

I have a question about probe droid.If let say both LS and DS left 1 life on their final objective to win the game.

Luke skywalker strike at DS objective(4 Damage) and probe droid defend it.Which objective is destroy first?

Nate French :

When Luke strikes, his controller gets to determine the order in which his combat icons (by type) resolve. So he can either resolve his "Blast" icons and deal damage to the objective first (thereby destroying it and winning the game), or he can resolve his "Unit damage" icons and deal damage to the Probe Droid first, which would allow it to trigger its response, killing the LS objective.

So the order of icon resolution is in the striking player's hand, and he would determine who wins in this example by deciding which of Luke's icon types to resolve first.




Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

  • xXDarthBladeXx likes this