Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

The Dreadfort

The Dreadfort

Unique The Dreadfort

Type: Location House: Stark
Game Text:
House Bolton.
Response: After you play or take control of a House Bolton character with STR 3 or higher, draw 1 card.
Flavor Text: "Bolton's bastard is massing men at the Dreadfort," she warned them.
Number: 105 Set: DB
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Franz Miklis
Recent Decks: Robb & Roose
Stark Bolton HOD Skopje Edition
Bolton Targeted Murder
Bolton hybrid


If I use the Gates of Winterfell (CtB) for a House Bolton Character with STR 3+ I can not tigger the response of the Dradfort, right?
Putting a card into play is not playing a card. And I doubt that you count as "taking control" over a card when you put it into play under your control, if that was your reasoning (also, if this was true, the card would probably had been worded with put into play right away instead of play) :)

Does it works (both play or take) with Bolton Refugee and Winterfell Castle (Core)?

Yes, it does work. See the official FAQ (page 27):


Qualifying characteristics of cards are checked
at the time a Response effect is triggered. In
this example, the Bolton character enters play
and has its STR raised to 3 (by the constant
effect on Winterfell Castle) when it enters
play, which occurs before the Response effect
is triggered. When the Response is triggered,
the character’s STR is 3, and it has just been
played, so you can use The Dreadfort to draw
a card.

Does one trigger the response for duplicates?

No. When you play a duplicate, you are not considered to be playing a character (just a duplicate without title, text or traits). Since you did not play a character, you cannot trigger the Response.

And what if a duplicate enters the game as a legal character?
Imagine using Ambush from the Plains to put Green Hatchling into play, while having Rhaegal (or simply move it out of shadows). Assuming that Hatchling somehow meets the criteria for The Dreadfort, can you use its ability?

Well first, Dreadfort only works when you play or take control of a character. A "put into play" effect like Ambush from the Plains, the Ambush keyword, coming out of shadows, etc. won't qualify.


On a larger scale, though, you check play restrictions at the time you trigger the Response. The card you played must be a 3+ STR, House Bolton character at the time you trigger the Response in order to draw the card. If it has turned into a (textless, traitless, titleless and crestless) dupe before you get a chance to trigger the response, you will not be able to do so, no matter how the card came into play.