Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Bran Stark



Bran Stark

Unique Bran Stark



Type: Character House: Stark
Cost: 2 Strength: 1 Icons:
Game Text:
The effect should have the text: "...(Limit 3 times per round.)"
Lord.
Plot: Kneel Bran Stark to choose and reveal a new plot card. (Limit 3 times per round.)
Flavor Text: "I don't want to be broken. I want to be a knight."
Number: 13 Set: Core
Quantity: 1 Illustrator: John Matson
Recent Decks: Robb & Roose
Income denial
Stark KotHH River Control
Maesters of Defiance
Stark Direwolf and Renown


41 Comments

Photo
slothgodfather
May 26 2013 04:56 PM
Bran cannot protect you from VM. If a plot has a "when reveal" effect, it will completely resolve before you have the opportunity to use Bran's ability to make them change to another. Whenever you reveal a new plot your previously revealed plot goes into your used plot pile - regardless of if you used a card effect to change plots or where revealing a new plot during the plot framework. Duplicates of unique cards can be removed to save the attached card from any effect that would have it leave play - so you can discard, as a response, the duplicate to save a character from being killed by VM.
Hello all, quick question. If you use Bran to reveal a plot card in the action round before the reveal plot framework phase, does you initiative change to the new plot card revealed or does it only change when you reveal a second plot in the plot framework phase?

Here's the context of the question. let's say you control "host of the bear". before the plot framework phase you reveal a plot with an initiative of 1 with Bran's ability and you don't have any other cards that change your initiative. let's say in the normal plot framework phse, you then choose a plot with an initiative of 3 as your normal plot that will be used in determinig who the first player is.

does "host of the bear" have to be discarded when you use bran's ability to reveal the initial plot with initiative of 1, even though you don't ever use that initiative to determine turn order?
Photo
slothgodfather
Aug 28 2013 02:35 PM
Short answer - if you ever have an initiative of 2 or lower, regardless of the phase, the host runs off.

Long answer - The issue with Host of the Bear (LoW) is that they check your "current" initiative constantly. So if you, at any point, have an initiative that is 2 or lower, then they are discarded. What you are thinking is that your initiative is decided during the standard "reveal plots" framework and that your initiative stays that # until the next standard "reveal plot" framework. Initiative is more dynamic than that - it is actually counted any time a card or game mechanic counts it - and that always goes off of your currently revealed plot (+modifiers). The difference is that normally, the only time your initiative matters is during that framework action to determine first play. If you change plots later on in the turn your Initiative doesn't typically matter because it isn't being measured again. Host measures constantly.

Additional note - you cannot setup with Host of the Bear unless you happen to also setup with +3 Initiative cards - because when you flip over your cards for set, you have 0 initiative.
Is it legit to use Inn Of The Kneeling Man in response to this to then kneel Bran for his effect again? I'm thinking City of Lies > City of Spiders > something with gold/claim depending on what I need

Bran cannot protect you from VM. If a plot has a "when reveal" effect, it will completely resolve before you have the opportunity to use Bran's ability to make them change to another. Whenever you reveal a new plot your previously revealed plot goes into your used plot pile - regardless of if you used a card effect to change plots or where revealing a new plot during the plot framework. Duplicates of unique cards can be removed to save the attached card from any effect that would have it leave play - so you can discard, as a response, the duplicate to save a character from being killed by VM.

What if there is Dragonstone Port (Core) in play? Can I then use Bran's ability after choosing and before revealing Valar, so that it is not revealed and therefore no one gets killed?

What if there is Dragonstone Port (Core) in play? Can I then use Bran's ability after choosing and before revealing Valar, so that it is not revealed and therefore no one gets killed?

Yes, but only against your own Valar. So this is only useful if you didn't want to Valar, but it was your last unused plot card. You could choose it, then kneel Bran and trigger his ability before it is revealed and draw another plot card (your used cards are all then considered unused, except Valar in this case).

Yes, but only against your own Valar. So this is only useful if you didn't want to Valar, but it was your last unused plot card. You could choose it, then kneel Bran and trigger his ability before it is revealed and draw another plot card (your used cards are all then considered unused, except Valar in this case).

Yeah, thats the situation I had in mind.
So, to clarify: You can never change the plot cards of your enemies right? Thanks in advance.
@lmsndrs:
Yeah, totally!

@Schwaig:
You can, just not with this card. Cards like Bungled Orders (OSaS) or Lords of the Narrow Sea (Core) can force your opponent to reveal a new plot card.
I have a question regarding this.

Let's say my Opponent plays Valar, It's a when revealed effect so I can respond (right?).

Assuming thats right can I kneel Bran to switch my own plot to Outwit and then use it's ability to cancel Valar?
Unfortunately no, since Bran's ability is not a response. You have to use his ability during the player action window before plots are chosen or during the window after all plots are fully resolved.
hmmm just been going back through the cards i tend not to use, would this work? blockade, as its effect seems to be lasting, then use bran to get a high gold one myself
Well, if his effect was Any phase, or at least Marshalling, and you were a second player, you could trigger his effect after your opponent counts income. Since this is a plot phase effect, it doesn't work. :)
so i could feast or famine to add 6 gold, then switch to blockade?
you could.

edit: you could, but you still cannot declare any challenges that round.

This might be a silly question. Some already asked but it seems to have been ignored.

 

Can you use Bran to choose and reveal an opponent's plot card? It doesn't say anything about who's plot deck to use.

This might be a silly question. Some already asked but it seems to have been ignored.

 

Can you use Bran to choose and reveal an opponent's plot card? It doesn't say anything about who's plot deck to use.

 

Well, the Core set rules say:

 

Plot Phase, Step 1: Choose and Reveal Plot Cards
 
Each player simultaneously chooses and reveals
one plot card from his plot deck...