Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Star Wars LCG


Search for Cards
Name:
Order By:
More Search Options
Type:
Trait:
Text:
Objective Number:
Set:

Unique:
Side:
Game Type:
Unit Damage:
Blast Damage:
Tactics:
Faction:
Restricted:
Cost:
Force Icons:
Resources:
Damage Capacity:
Edge Priority:
Hide Search Options
Recent Card Discussion
Payback
-----

Apr 18 2018 02:05 AM by Thaliak

I only watched the show once, so I'm not sure if this card is referencing the same debt to Vizago that Vizago's flavor text does. Regardless, I think the name fits if we assume revenge is a dish best served cold. A scoundrel who prefers to keep himself alive (a trait reflected by Shielding) would only pursue revenge when there's an opening, or a situation where the Light Side can get unopposed damage.

Personally, I wish the art had an action shot instead of Vizago's picture. But I'm looking forward to trying the card.

Payback
-----

Apr 17 2018 05:59 AM by MarioFanaticXV
I know I'm being nitpicky here, but doesn't it seem like it'd be more fitting for a card called "Payback" to deal damage when your opponent survives an unopposed engagement?
Teamwork
-----

Apr 16 2018 02:19 AM by RoyalAegis

I asked this exact same question last year! Short answer is yes you can play Teamwork without having any physical cards in the edge. But the Gladiator's text only works if you have at least 1 physical card in the edge stack. 

 

So if DS has edge-1 and they pass on that, you play Teamwork and screw them over.

 

http://www.cardgamed...nd-edge-stacks/

Teamwork
-----

Apr 15 2018 10:10 PM by Zarbarian
Can you play this card even if you don’t physical cards in your edge stack? The Gladiator class ship wording is a bit different but it seems you must put a card in the edge stack to play this card right?
Spirit of Rebellion
-----

Apr 05 2018 09:24 PM by Thaliak

As Muddervader said, putting a unit into play is different than playing a unit. Since Falcon's action puts units into play, it can't trigger Spirit.

Spirit of Rebellion
-----

Apr 05 2018 08:47 AM by Muddervader
There is an additional difference beyond just the cost: if you play a card you have played the card while if you just put a card into play you have not played the card. For the specifics: The Investigation - Specifically prohibits playing the card. Other ways of the card entering play (ie Put Into Play) are not affected. Thus if you name "Yoda," then your opponent would not be able to Play Yoda, but could still put Yoda into play via some other means such as the Falcon or Yoda, You Seek Yoda. Mercenary Support w/ Bossk - Bossk's Reaction is specifically to being Played. Thus, if Bossk is put into play in some other way (including via Mercenary Support) you cannot use his Reaction. Counter example: Backstabber has a Reaction to entering play during an engagement. Thus his Reaction does not care how he came to be in play, just that he moved from an out of play location (hand, deck, discard pile) to in play. The obvious way to get the Reaction to trigger is using the Action on Backstabber to play him during an engagement. However, you could also use the Action from Escort Carrier (Action: Focus this unit to put a Fighter unit or a Precision Flying enhancement into play from your hand or discard pile.) to put Backstabber into play from your hand or discard pile, which would not have him enter already participating in the engagement (because that's not what Escort Carrier does) but would still be entering play during an engagement and thus still be able to trigger Backstabber's Reaction.
Spirit of Rebellion
-----

Apr 05 2018 08:18 AM by Zarbarian
Rules Question: if the Falcon drops a non-Smugglers unit, does this trigger? Millennium Falcon (72) reads “Action: Return this unit to your hand to put a Character or Droid unit into play from your hand”. I’m thinking that it will not trigger because the unit was “put into play” and did not pay its cost to “play”. But I need clarification.
Imperial Raider
-----

Mar 20 2018 02:07 PM by RoyalAegis

I would have much preferred a reaction like: "After you lose an edge battle as a defender, place a shield on a target unit or objective." Something like the DP-20 where you can toss a few around. 

Imperial Raider
-----

Mar 20 2018 12:03 AM by TheNameWasTaken

I just came up with a good use for the Raider - having the Raider available guarantees you'll have a defending unit if LS has A Legend Begins out and you suspect they might have Tactical Planning in hand.

Imperial Raider
-----

Mar 19 2018 01:56 PM by Boreas

I have a few times when having one more body in a fight would prevent unopposed, or to get in a clutch shield. But I'd say those have been super edge cases. 

 

But if you need one more body or shield, then you can simply declare him as a defender. The only situation is when you do not know if you will win an egde, but you will try to. And you need this shield + unit if you lose, but do not need if you win. And you need this one unit when you win an edge for something else, like keeping the force.

Imperial Raider
-----

Mar 19 2018 02:22 AM by pantsyg

I have a few times when having one more body in a fight would prevent unopposed, or to get in a clutch shield. But I'd say those have been super edge cases. 

Imperial Raider
-----

Mar 17 2018 01:20 AM by Boreas

Do any of you use this unit's reaction? I played this card many times and virtually never used reaction.

TIE Phantom
*****

Mar 13 2018 12:22 PM by Boreas

While this unit is ready and participating in an engagement, can it “protect Obsidian Leader”?

 

I found it! You cannot protect.

Bounty Listing
-----

Mar 12 2018 12:53 AM by bbrodsky50

Thanks for the clarification pantsyg - it broke my heart to find out I did not have something truly oppressive working. Lol. 

Bounty Listing
-----

Mar 08 2018 10:39 PM by Acthelion

ok thanks

Bounty Listing
-----

Mar 08 2018 07:50 PM by pantsyg

This only works on "put into play" effects, things like the Falcon, Yoda You Seek Yoda, etc. It doesn't trigger if you "play" a unit from your hand the normal way. Splitting hairs on the terminology, I know, but it would be bonkers busted if it worked on normal unit plays. 

Bounty Listing
-----

Mar 08 2018 02:08 AM by Acthelion

am i reading it right ??

 

so my opponent plays luke and i pay 1 to capture him ??

Crisis of Identity
-----

Feb 22 2018 10:46 PM by WookieeRoar
Also, keep in mind that the "incoming" unit doesn't need to be ready. Say that you don't have tactics and you need to strike with all your attackers/defenders to be able to get the effect you need. You can't one-shot the LS unit but they can one-shot one of yours... Switch for a harmless focused unit, and it's basically the same as a free targeted strike for all your units.
Crisis of Identity
-----

Feb 22 2018 10:33 PM by WookieeRoar
I used it once to switch a 1-cost Ewok for a Yoda when defending with Golan battle station... Good times.
LE-B02D9
-----

Feb 19 2018 02:49 AM by MarioFanaticXV
I know the card makes it hard to tell (I had to check Wookieepedia), but the name uses an O (the letter), not a 0 (the number).


Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.