Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Cunning



Cunning

Cunning

Type: Upgrade
Cost: 2
1Focus
1Disrupt
1Discard
1Resource
Special
Blank
Ability
Yellow character only.
[Special] - Resolve a special ability ([Special]) on another card in play as if it were your card.
Side: Neutral
Color: Yellow
Rarity: Rare
Number: 65
Illustrator:
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Star Wars Destiny Deck Builder!


13 Comments

So glad it's a neutral yellow . Atleast one goes in with my yellow characters . The ability to play any special on the table ??? too good ! and if you have other focus heavy dice , then focus this .... all of a sudden you're destroying supports , drawing cards , hitting someone for two unblockabe , killing someone for 5 resources etc. etc

You'd think that, right? I'm finding that it's a good match for Amidala, but hard to know where else to put it. Poe Dameron doesn't synergise well with Amidala, and there's not other yellow character that can be afforded if you take Poe at x2. Kylo Ren / Jango could accomodate this, but that's an aggro deck spread across 2 damage types and using this card instead of a more damage-focused upgrade seems crazy.

 

Could work for Crime Lord too, but that's 2R that could be saved for actually paying for / activating Crime Lord's special, and a 1 in 6 chance of triggering that special seems not worth it.

I'm not sure how this works exactly. Say I want to use BB-8's ability, which reads: Reroll this die and one of your other dice. Do not remove this die from your pool after resolving this ability.

 

Which die is targeted by "this die"? Is it Cunning's die, or BB-8's die? If it's BB-8's die, what if the die is not in the dice pool at this point?

Good question. I would say its Cunning's die, as you're resolving it "as if it were your card". 

Good question. I would say its Cunning's die, as you're resolving it "as if it were your card". 

But maybe BB-8 is your card already. It's a bit confusing to me. As self-referential effects on cards refer to the cards themselves only ("this upgrade" or "this character"), I assume "this die" refers to that card's die only. In which case I'm even more confused...

I'm not sure how this works exactly. Say I want to use BB-8's ability, which reads: Reroll this die and one of your other dice. Do not remove this die from your pool after resolving this ability.

 

Which die is targeted by "this die"? Is it Cunning's die, or BB-8's die? If it's BB-8's die, what if the die is not in the dice pool at this point?

 

"This die" refers to BB8's die, which would mean that you re-roll the controlling player's BB8 die, not Cunning's, hence Cunning's die will get removed once the effect is completed.

 

On a similar note, when resolving a Black One die via Cunning you do not re-roll the controlling player's Black One die since it was never removed in the first place (the condition to re-roll the die is a replacement effect for an effect that hasn't happened, therefore it can't be replaced). This example is in the rules reference p22.

 

 

This post explains most (if not all) of the interesting interactions: https://community.fa...comment=2559074

 

Using Cunning to make an AT-ST blow itself up is my favourite interaction. My opponent once played one whilst Cunning was on the table on its special side ..... Needless to say it self destructed rather quickly

    • Asklepios likes this

Nice link, that makes a lot of sense now.

 

One thing though: what if BB8's dice isn't currently in the pool? Does the "reroll this dice" criteria let you reroll that dice back into the pool?

Nice link, that makes a lot of sense now.

 

One thing though: what if BB8's dice isn't currently in the pool? Does the "reroll this dice" criteria let you reroll that dice back into the pool?

 

No, since dice can only be re-rolled if they are in play. Given that the text on BB8 states "and", you can do the second part without being able to do the first since they occur simultaneously, so you could still use it legally if you really wanted to re-roll one of your own die

How would this ability work if you used your opponents Sith Holocron?

How would this ability work if you used your opponents Sith Holocron?

 

The short answer is that it can't resolve it since you don't have ownership of the Holocron in order put it into your hand

What are people's thoughts to the use of the cunning special to enable the young Darth Vader special?

 

The way that it has been ruled for thermal detonators is that the detonators are discarded.  Is this the same for Darth Vader - i.e. does he take the additional damage or does it go on the character with the cunning?

Yep. You could do four damage to Darth Anakin with Cunning's special, or one damage to Darth Anakin and three damage to another character.

Yep. You could do four damage to Darth Anakin with Cunning's special, or one damage to Darth Anakin and three damage to another character.

Don't be so sure. You literally have nothing to base this on other than thermal and grenades example which are different because they are required to discard thus keeping a person from never using the special but cunning THEIR OWN to spam it without losing it. I am very very confident cunning the vader special will do damage to the person cunning' it or no kickback damage at all.