Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Wildrider Squadron


  • CLSMerc likes this

Wildrider Squadron

Wildrider Squadron


Type: Army Unit
Faction: Eldar
Cost: 4
Attack Value: 3
Hit Points: 4
Command Icons: 1
Signature/Loyalty:
Traits: Vehicle. Saim-Hann.

No Wargear Attachments.
Combat Action: Move this unit to an adjacent planet. (Limit once per phase.)

Set: Core Set Number: 130 Quantity: 1
Illustrator: Erfian Asafat
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Warhammer 40,000: Conquest Deck Builder!


14 Comments

I his Move in Combat forced ? It's worded like there's no choice but it also lacks the  ' forced' keyword ( if this game has the ' forced' keyword).

It's only used if you choose to use it during an action window during the combat phase. 

 

Thinking about this card, makes me wonder:

 

In an action window during a battle at a planet adjacent to where Wildrider Squadron is (thus, WS is not part of the battle), could you trigger WS's ability to move him to that embattled planet?

Photo
theamazingmrg
Dec 16 2014 09:51 AM

I his Move in Combat forced ? It's worded like there's no choice but it also lacks the  ' forced' keyword ( if this game has the ' forced' keyword).

This game does use Forced before bold text to indicate when you have to do something (Forced Reaction: After X happens, do Y for example).  As Wildrider Squadron doesn't have Forced it is an optional trigger in any Combat phase action window.

 

It's only used if you choose to use it during an action window during the combat phase. 

 

Thinking about this card, makes me wonder:

 

In an action window during a battle at a planet adjacent to where Wildrider Squadron is (thus, WS is not part of the battle), could you trigger WS's ability to move him to that embattled planet?

Yes, you can trigger it during any Combat phase action window.  This includes battles at planets where the Wildrider Squadron isn't involved.

 

Another good use is at the first planet.  Attack with the Wildrider Squadron, then trigger it's ability to move it to the second planet, then strike the finishing blow with another unit at the first planet,.  That way you win the first planet but the Wildrider Squadron is not forced to retreat and remains in play for another battle or the next turn.

    • CLSMerc likes this

It's only used if you choose to use it during an action window during the combat phase. 

 

Thinking about this card, makes me wonder:

 

In an action window during a battle at a planet adjacent to where Wildrider Squadron is (thus, WS is not part of the battle), could you trigger WS's ability to move him to that embattled planet?

 

 

Yes - Combat Actions can be triggered at any planet during the Combat Phase regardless of which planet's battle you are resolving at the time (another example is Ork Kannon firing at a different planet). Some abilities do specify they only affect the planet they are at, but this isn't one of them.

 

@CLSMerc - This game does have the Forced keyword. As xraysteve states Wildriders' combat action is optional and can happen at any time (when there's an action window, which is all over the place).

 

Edit: Doh, ninja'd

    • theamazingmrg likes this

Cool , thanks all . Kinda figured it was an optional play ! 

These guys are basically "Super" Mobile. Give them a Starcannon and go punch holes in things, wow!

    • CLSMerc likes this

These guys are basically "Super" Mobile. Give them a Starcannon and go punch holes in things, wow!

I hadn't fully contemplated their ability until recently.  Being able to move them in, shoot, and move them out before taking any damage (from enemies at the planet) is huge.

EDIT:  just read the "Once per phase" part....which does limit their movement.  But does allow them to still shoot and scoot before taking (too much) damage.

And his movement has a different activation timing than , for example , the Falcon , which is mobile , same adjacent planet target but it must happen as the combat phase begins ! This guy can move during any combat action window . 

 

i love that subtle exhilarating feeling when you realize possibilities and combos with cards you never thought of using before . Darikgrey quoted a great idea above !!!

    • xraysteve likes this

It makes it a very strong first planet unit, due to the ability to shuffle along once the battle is locked and therefore avoid returning to HQ. It's also great for giving the enemy warlord a headache as it can punch him for 3 on any one of 3 planets.

Nicely costed for it's body, Command and abilities a solid 4/5 for sure. It's very capable to swing Combats in your favour and do so again on the next battle.

What does phase mean here? Does it mean each combat phase or the entire "round" composed by Deploy Phase, Command Phase, Combat Phase?

 

In other words, can I move Wildrider Squadron in the first Combat Phase and later on move it again in the second Combat Phase in the same "round"?

Photo
Lightbright
Mar 28 2015 03:52 AM
You can move it in any combat action window, but it has a limit. So you move it once in 'a' combat action window. So once in a combat "Phase" but anytime during your combat action windows. Hope I didn't make that even more confusing.

"Phase" means each discrete phase of a round. So "limit once per phase" means you can only use the Action one time between each "phase begins" and "phase ends" steps on the flow chart.

 

Of course, since this is a Combat Action, it is also limited (by the bold print of the card ability) to the combat phase only. And since there is only one combat phase per round, this card is effectively "limit once per round during the combat phase." But if there is ever a card effect that creates a second combat phase in the same round, the card ability could be used once in each of those phases (even though they would be in the same round).

This one gets better all the time (with all the tau toys)