Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

The Crown Regent redirect

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
kenaris

kenaris

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
In a melee, if you are forced to redirect a challenge because of the Crown Regent's title ability do you get to re-declare stealth targets against the new opponent?

#2
doulos2k

doulos2k

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 1798 posts
Technically, the Crown Regent must happen BEFORE you declare stealth targets. BUT - people OFTEN forget this and stealth while declaring attackers.

So, the answer is YES; however, if the opponent took ANY actions or said they had NO actions, then they could not redirect (it would be too late).

#3
doulos2k

doulos2k

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 1798 posts
To be more specific, the Crown Regent redirect happens DURING the declare challenge framework before passives and before responses (no, this is not explicitly laid out in the FAQ timing chart, but the Core Rules state, "After a player initiates a challenge and declares a target and attackers, you may use this title to...")

This is why the timing is considered to happen during Step 3 of the FAW (as the declaration of attackers Framework Event resolves).

#4
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1043 posts
I think it's in step 4 (passives). It doesn't change the fact that it happens before any responses or actions are taken.

#5
OldShrimpEyes

OldShrimpEyes

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 404 posts
To echo the original reply, the attacker will still get to declare stealth against the new attacker because strictly speaking the re direct kicks in before stealth is declared in the first place.

#6
Isapostolos

Isapostolos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

What is the procedure, 

Attacker declare the type of challenge, then Crown regent declare if he redirects the attack OR Attacker declare the type of challenge, tells exactly which cards are included in the attack and THEN Crown regent declare if he redirects the attack. 

My question is do attacker first tells exactly which cards are included in the attack or Crown regent first tell if he redirects attack and do attacker can change cards involved after redirects of attack.



#7
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts

As per the rulebook:

"This title also has a special ability that allows you to redirect one challenge each round. After a player initiates a challenge and declares a target and attackers, you may use this title to make that player choose a new target for the attack!"

 

So the attacking player has to declare and kneel his attacking characters before the Crown Regent decides to redirect.



#8
AnitaOpelp

AnitaOpelp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
THIS IS AWESOME And the first thing I thought of is, how do animals become contributors to this and can Red become one???

#9
nguyentrongvan

nguyentrongvan

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

This is awesome!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

________

Android games



#10
melic4

melic4

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
What happens if the Crown Regent redirects a challenge and there is no other legal target? Can the attacking player declare the challange to the title, which he supports?
 
e.g. 3 playears in the game.
1 player - takes Master of Coin.
2 player - takes Master of Laws.
3 pleyer - takes Crown Regent title.
 
Player 1 (master of coin) initiates power challange against the player 3 (crown regent). Player 3 redirects the power challange.
My question: can player 1 attack player 2? In the second edition - it's possible. I need to know, if it's available in the first edition.