Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Lord of the Rings LCG


Search for Cards
Name:
Order By:
More Search Options
Trait:
Text:
Set:

Encounter Set:
Unique:
Deck:
Type:
Sphere:



Restricted:
Cost:
Willpower - Threat:
Attack:
Defense:
Hit - Quest Points:
Hide Search Options
Recent Card Discussion
Keen-eyed Took
***--

Jul 22 2016 11:13 AM by cianfa88

In some specialized decks it could be useful, e.g. with Prince Imrahil and using the excess of resource generated froma Steward of Gondor. I never used it before, i really love when i find a nice use of an underrated card!

Oak-wood Grove
****-

Jul 21 2016 03:06 PM by slothgodfather

Just a quick reminder, neutral resources - such as Gandalf - do not belong to any sphere, so he doesn't gain the benefit of this location to play cards from your hand.

Oak-wood Grove
****-

Jul 20 2016 06:37 AM by Valdemart

If I am not using any Leadership heroes, may I still use this effect?

 

That is the whole idea of this location - if you are not running Leadership (and have no cards that give the icon) this is the only way to put resources on Grimbeorn.

Oak-wood Grove
****-

Jul 19 2016 07:42 PM by whaggardjr

If I am not using any Leadership heroes, may I still use this effect?

Thror's Map
****-

Jul 18 2016 07:23 PM by slothgodfather

It is more a question of the travel costs in any given encounter deck for me.  If we are having trouble dealing with certain travel costs, dropping this attachment in can really change things around.   But you are right, it doesn't go in everything anymore.   

 

For those wondering, the errata is that it is now a Travel Action, and so can only be used during the Travel Phase. 

Thror's Map
****-

Jul 17 2016 02:12 PM by cheapmate
This card lost a lot of its playability after the errata, but still can be useful in some decks.
Na’asiyah
-----

Jul 15 2016 03:37 PM by slothgodfather

Both her and the captain will follow the "first player" and "last player".   Note that for Mablung this does mean you get a resource each time they switch to you.  

Dagger of Westernesse
*****

Jul 15 2016 02:43 PM by cheapmate
A useful card, especially in Hobbit (or other 'low engagement') decks, I frequently use this one
Na’asiyah
-----

Jul 14 2016 08:24 PM by Valdemart

Does she engage the newly appointed last player each round and re-trigger her forced effect, or is the "engages the last player" a one-time effect?

 

She hunts the last player - when the first player token is passed, a new check is made, and she reapplies her Forced effect. Cute, right?

Ered Luin Miner
*****

Jul 14 2016 12:22 PM by Valdemart

Here are few responses we got from Caleb about this character:

 

With regards to A Very Good Tale and then with regards to Throngs of Unfaithful (enemy):

Ered Luin Miner’s ability will trigger anytime he discarded by an effect that discards cards from the top of your deck. That does allow you to put him into play in the manner you describe in your example with A Very Good Tale. The Miner’s ability does not trigger when it is discarded from the bottom of your deck, even if it is the only card in your deck.

 

That is a little unexpected - so a single card can only be on the top or on the bottom. This means that the cards' text modify even the general condition of cards, and their state is binary - they can have only one index, place, state etc.

 

That is some Schrodinger shenanigans right there. Regardless, thanks for bringing the clarification!

Na’asiyah
-----

Jul 14 2016 05:07 AM by bspratt1611
Does she engage the newly appointed last player each round and re-trigger her forced effect, or is the "engages the last player" a one-time effect?
Raiment of War
-----

Jul 13 2016 03:06 PM by LoricatusLupus
Works well with Tactics Theoden, as Snowmane can still be attached. That means he can quest for 3, hopefully ready following quest success and still be available to Sentinel block for people/chop up enemies.
Ered Luin Miner
*****

Jul 13 2016 02:44 PM by slothgodfather

Here are few responses we got from Caleb about this character:

 

With regards to A Very Good Tale and then with regards to Throngs of Unfaithful (enemy):

Ered Luin Miner’s ability will trigger anytime he discarded by an effect that discards cards from the top of your deck. That does allow you to put him into play in the manner you describe in your example with A Very Good Tale. The Miner’s ability does not trigger when it is discarded from the bottom of your deck, even if it is the only card in your deck.

 

With regards to King Under the Mountain:

If you discard Ered Luin Miner with King Under the Mountain you can trigger the Miner's effect to put it into play because you are discarding it from the top of your deck. “Looking” at the top 2 cards of your deck does not move them from the top of your deck.

Ered Luin Miner
*****

Jul 12 2016 07:39 AM by Nerdmeister

@VicTiger

Yes Círdan makes you draw an additional card from the top of the encounter deck. But he ads it to his hand and then once it is in his hand he must discard a card. This is much more straightforward than the KutM-question as the card is in your hand when you discard it because the discarding effect clearly specifies that it occurs after the card draw. So in short: no, Ered Luin Miner does not work with Círdan

 

@Sloth

I already said that I can see the argument for the KutM-combo and had assumed the argument against it to be equally visible.

The argument simply being that when you "look at cards" they could be assumed to be in a quasi-state that is neither on top of the deck or in your hand and effects that trigger off either location would not affect them in this state.

Ered Luin Miner
*****

Jul 11 2016 03:19 PM by slothgodfather

Here is a generic transcription from above:

s: it works with KutM

n: nope, I disagree.

s: here is why i think it works. <reason>

n: source?

s: nope. do you have a source/reason for why you think it doesn't work?

n: nope and i'm not bothered enough to care any more

s: recap.

 

All I'm getting at there is you haven't given a reason for why you think it doesn't work.  I do get, and agree, that we can see the argument go either way.  My reasoning for it not function is it's textual difference from Hidden Cache, though I still lean towards it working.  

 

Anyways, I did bring this question up on the FFG forums last week and it has had a discussion/comparison with some other cards of similar/dissimilar abilities.  It can be found here.  I believe Donkler is going to submit the rules question, so I'm not going to atm.  Will post back when we get an official response.

Ered Luin Miner
*****

Jul 11 2016 09:55 AM by Nerdmeister

This is going to take a long time when our respective arguments are: "Why would it work?" vs "Why wouldn´t it work?"

I have already pointed out that I can see the argument for it to work, but that I disagree with it, because I can also see the argument the other way around.

Just because someone asserts a ruling based on their own justification doesn´t automatically make it right. You might be right but then again so might I. I am open to both interpretations but leaning more heavily towards the combo suggested is not working.

Which is why I am asking if you have a ruling from someone with the authority to make it.

I am gathering from you response that the answer is "no" though.

Time to make a rules inquiry (when/if I´m bothered enough by it)

Ered Luin Miner
*****

Jul 09 2016 10:34 PM by VicTiger
Going back to my original question about putting Ered Luin Miner into play with Cirdan the Shipwright's ability:

Cirdan the Shipwright
 
Draw 1 additional card at the beginning of the resource phase.
 
Forced: After drawing cards at the beginning of the resource phase, choose and discard 1 of those cards.
 

 

 

From the original core set rule book (pg. 12):

Phase 1: Resource
...
 
After collecting resources, each player draws 1 card from his player deck and adds it to his hand.
 
When a player is instructed to draw one or more cards, he always draws those cards from the top of his own player deck.
...
 

 

 

 
If discarded by Cirdan the Shipwright, then response condition:

Ered Luin Miner
 
Response: After Ered Luin Miner is discarded from the top of your deck, put it into play under your control. 
 

 

 

appears to have been met, and he can be put into play.
Ered Luin Miner
*****

Jul 08 2016 03:51 PM by slothgodfather

At least it sounds assertive; any authoritative ruling to back this statement? :P

 

Any authoritative ruling to say it doesn't work? ;)   Why don't you think it works?

Ered Luin Miner
*****

Jul 08 2016 08:37 AM by Nerdmeister

At first I was going to say that King Under the Mountain does not work with the Miner, but actually it does

At least it sounds assertive; any authoritative ruling to back this statement? :P

Ered Luin Miner
*****

Jul 07 2016 02:36 PM by slothgodfather

Yea, because there is no interim point for the card in terms of game mechanics.  It is either part of the top of your deck, or it is in your hand.  While you are looking at it, it is still part of the top of your deck.  That's my take on it anyways.  I can't remember if there has been any actual ruling on it.



© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.