Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Call of Cthulhu LCG


Search for Cards
Name:
Order By:
More Search Options
Subtype:
Text:
Set:

Unique:
Type:
Faction:




Restricted:
Cost:
Skill:
Icons:
Resource Modifier:
Steadfast:
Hide Search Options
Recent Card Discussion
The Terrible Old Man
****-

Yesterday, 10:35 PM by FunkeXMix

This looks like a pretty good effect for a one cost.

Local Sheriff
***--

Yesterday, 08:55 PM by RichardPlunkett

From the rules: "A triggered ability is any triggered effect caused by a card already in play."

So, being an "Action:..." it is a triggered effect, but since you only use it once the card is in the discard pile, it is not  a triggered ability, so Cathouse cannot recognize its use.

 

That said, this is still a character card, and Hali's Directive cares only about that, not "ability" status, so it would be legal to play. That said, while characters are in the discard pile they can't go insane, so that part would be ignored. Also, if they has the resources available the owner could just re-trigger the Action, so using Hali's to cancel the first use would often be a complete waste.

Local Sheriff
***--

Yesterday, 06:58 PM by Track8
Does this count as a triggered ability? I'm not sure if Hali's Directive could cancel it, or if Cathouse would recognize it...?
Dimensional Rift
***--

Feb 10 2016 03:35 PM by Track8

I disagree about it being as much a problem as with Plague Stone and Ice Shaft.  The Stone hardly combos with Jamburg at all because it shuffles back into the deck after one use.  The Jamburg+Shaft combo is kind of a smaller-scale version of Jamburg+Rift, amounting to "Pay 3 to destroy one small-to-medium sized guy."

 

The Jamburg+Rift combo basically becomes a repeatable "Pay 3+3 to destroy everything but Marcus Jamburg."  Add in the fact that he's got Toughness to make him harder to kill, and he's got an Investigation icon that makes him lethal when no one's around to oppose him at stories.

 

You're right, it's not insurmountable, and it is slow.  And I get what you're saying that they restricted Jamburg, so he doesn't become ubiquitous.  And admittedly, I've never seen a CoC tournament.  I'm just surprised that turning Jamburg into a nuclear arms dealer, when he has built-in immunity to his own infinite supply of nukes, isn't considered broken.  Maybe I'll go ahead and take advantage! :)

The Archmage, Arcanis
****-

Feb 10 2016 01:31 PM by Track8

Nothing against this card or Tom Capor for designing it, but I think this was a missed opportunity considering this would be the final set ever released.  Personally, I would have gone with:

 

H.P. Lovecraft

 

Type: Character Faction: Neutral

Cost:Skill: 10 Icons: (A)(A)(A)(I)(I)

Game Text: 

Ancient One

Willpower.  Invulnerability.

Immune to triggered effects.

Action: Drain a domain and discard a card from your hand to search your deck for a card and put it into your hand. 

Special Attribute: Steadfast - A/M/S/O/C/H/S/Y x1

 

He could've been playable with Broken Space, Broken Time, Calling the Darkness, and Theosophist, and it would've been a great tribute to send the game off.  He'd be basically immune to the other cards in the game (as is only right for CoC's originator), and he wouldn't even have to go to stories himself necessarily.  As the ultimate combo enabler, he could let his "creations" do his work for him.  Your hand would basically become his brain, and like a mad writer, all sorts of crazy combinations are coming up in his head.

 

What do you think?  As cool as Arcanis is, would anyone else have liked to have seen a Lovecraft tribute at the end of the game?

Dimensional Rift
***--

Feb 10 2016 01:19 PM by RichardPlunkett

Jamburg+Rift is a fearsome combo.  But it's not a fast combo, nor an insurmountable combo.

 

Jamburg has been restricted for excess power, without restriction he would be too common (much like eg sewer rats). But plague stone and ice shaft are as much as issues with him as the Rift is, and restricting all decent once-use supports is hardly attractive.

 

Non-wounding or multi-wounding character removal, will take him out. Support destruction that doesn't send to the discard, such as Raid. Textbox blanking.

Or just plain winning before they can get it going.

Dimensional Rift
***--

Feb 10 2016 12:57 PM by Track8

Shouldn't this card be restricted, so it can't be combined with Marcus Jamburg?

Cathouse
***--

Feb 09 2016 03:26 PM by Track8

I just thought of another direction that G/B Serpent deck above could go.  Keep Cathouse in there to ready your serpents, and add The Penthouse to keep refreshing your domains so you can keep paying for the triggered abilities.  The best part is you could call the deck "From the Cathouse to the Penthouse." :)

Johnny Valone
****-

Feb 09 2016 12:45 PM by Track8
Why is this guy the mob boss they printed instead of Danny O'Bannion? Danny O has been mentioned in the flavor text since the core set. I would've loved to have seen a card of him.
The Peel Association
**---

Feb 08 2016 04:24 PM by Track8

Like Carthoris said, the order of the resources on a domain is irrelevant.  Neutral resources act just like any other resource except they don't themselves provide you with a resource match.  They're basically just a colorless resource, like colorless mana in Magic, if you're familiar with that analogy.  They help you with the quantity of a cost, but not the color of a cost.  Otherwise, they're no different from any other resource.

 

And I think this card is weak by itself, but I could see it being effective in the right deck.  If you play the Peel Association to blank your opponent's biggest domain, and then you follow that up with the Blackwood Initiative and Karl Heinrich, you're putting your opponent in a position where he's suffering some serious card disadvantage.  Plus, if you can bounce your own Peel Association and play it again, you can hit more domains, or the same domain again.

 

Like I said above, my problem with this strategy is it seems too slow to me, and it also doesn't help you deal with your opponent's board.  You'll be winning the battle of card advantage, but your opponent might be winning the battle of board advantage.  This strategy would want the game to last a long time because it would need a long time even after it's set up to be able to make a big difference for you.

Hidden Agenda
***--

Feb 08 2016 03:28 PM by Carthoris

Yes, it's quite possible to win with ST mono, even without this card, which I've never used.

The Peel Association
**---

Feb 08 2016 03:25 PM by Carthoris

He says the opponent has to spend one more resource on top of the neutral ones to make a resource match. But as I remember, if you put a neutral card as your first resource it's only a match for other neutrals. Neutrals only become a usable resource for colors that were put before it, no?

 

I'm not sure where you get that idea. To make a resource match, you just have to have the faction represented in that domain. It doesn't matter whether it was added before or after other cards in the domain.

 

Now, more to the original point, another card will only make the domain usable for a single faction, so the Peel Association ability is proportionately more grief for multi-faction decks. It also can create problems for playing Loyal cards and heavy steadfast. I'm imagining a happy outcome where you deprive an opponent of the full steadfast count he needs for his furshlugginer dormant Cthulhu. (I got spanked by one of those last week, and I'm on the alert for ways to de-fang them.)

The Peel Association
**---

Feb 08 2016 10:52 AM by FunkeXMix

 

Danigral - 2 out of 5. Too expensive for what you get. With some extra attachments he can be a nice beat stick, but you can get something better for the cost (not to mention being easier to play) for cost 6 or even cost 4. His ability sounds nice, until you realize that you opponent just has to spend 1 card to make any resource match he wants. It might be good with Torch the Joint to get rid of any colored resource your opponent plays...but this is really reactive play for late game.

He says the opponent has to spend one more resource on top of the neutral ones to make a resource match. But as I remember, if you put a neutral card as your first resource it's only a match for other neutrals. Neutrals only become a usable resource for colors that were put before it, no?

 

*Never mind, my brain slipped*

Hidden Agenda
***--

Feb 07 2016 09:24 PM by Track8
I think it could work. My version is a mono-ST, but it's also heavily Lodge characters because a lot of ST cards only work with the Lodge subtype. I use H.O.S.T. In combo with all the "enters play" guys that ST offers, and it works pretty well from what I've seen.
Hidden Agenda
***--

Feb 07 2016 08:29 PM by Daevar

Question is (and I don't have an answer yet): Is ST at a level that it can (basically) run a mono deck? Since Loyal 4 in non-mono is basically a no-go. Should just give it a try, maybe it's ready to be carried by the boatload of 3 cost characters that basically constitute the best-of-the-best of characters in the game...

The Peel Association
**---

Feb 07 2016 04:24 AM by Track8
Don't agree with you there. I think the green, silver, red, and yellow ones are quite strong as long as you're not paying more than 4 for any of them. The purple one could be good on the right deck.

H.O.S.T. Is especially powerful IMO. Bouncing AND card draw? For ST? Say no more!
The Peel Association
**---

Feb 07 2016 03:50 AM by RichardPlunkett

There is a set of cards of this form  - costing 6 but reducing as you are losing.

They are all pretty weak, but they also improve a bit if you are playing a 3 player variant (or more I guess, but I have never played with more than 3).

Hidden Agenda
***--

Feb 07 2016 12:49 AM by Track8
I really like that this card is ST. With as much arcane as ST can win, you should be able to attack, ready, and then attack again, probably for the win at that point. Anything that can basically let you take two turns in a row at stories has serious power potential.
The Peel Association
**---

Feb 06 2016 06:34 PM by Track8
The problem with this card is two-fold. It's slow, but it also doesn't help your board situation. The opponent has won a story or two for you to play this guy, and then this guy comes in to keep things from getting worse. Unfortunately, you still have your opponent's board to deal with, the same board that won him those stories.
The Peel Association
**---

Feb 06 2016 01:31 PM by FunkeXMix

 

  • Danigral - 2 out of 5. Too expensive for what you get. With some extra attachments he can be a nice beat stick, but you can get something better for the cost (not to mention being easier to play) for cost 6 or even cost 4. His ability sounds nice, until you realize that you opponent just has to spend 1 card to make any resource match he wants. It might be good with Torch the Joint to get rid of any colored resource your opponent plays...but this is really reactive play for late game.
  • dboeren - 4 out of 5. Nasty effect on your opponent’s largest domain making them waste cards re-activating it.
  • Ire & WWDrakey - 4 out of 5 - We’re hedging our bets on the fact that more worthwhile Government support is on the way, but this is definitely one of the more complicated Societies, with plenty of possibility to be extremely irritating.
  • Wilbur - 3 out of 5 - A super nasty effect, but hard to play before your fate is looking grim. With serious cost reduction, Peel Association could definitely go up a notch, so I’m prepared to revise this evaluation once the recently announced Agency box and Lt. Wilson Stewart enters the cardpool. Still, in true Agency fashion, it’s got a subpar icon spread: at cost 6, it can’t defend a story from Degenerate Serpent Cultist (assuming it was left for defense last turn, since it can’t ready itself, either). Still, might be a part of the Agency resource destruction strategy that has always been a piece or two short.


Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.