Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Star Wars: Destiny


Search for Cards
Text:
Order By:
More Search Options
Type:
Side:
Color:
Die Face:
Rarity:
Set:

Unique:
Cost:
Health:
Collection:
Hide Search Options
Recent Card Discussion
Cunning
****-

Mar 24 2017 02:22 AM by Abyssalfury

No that's not correct. You most certainly can force choke the character owning cunning...see you have been already caught in this loop of interpretation. 

 

That's not what he said, or what you originally said. The original discussion was about Force Choking the character with Force Choke, not with Cunning.

 

You *can't* Cunning to copy Force Choke and then resolve it against the character that has Force Choke because Force Choke has to be used on another character, and Cunning doesn't change that.

 

You *can* Cunning to use Force Choke on the character equipped with Cunning because Force Choke has to be used on another character, and Cunning doesn't change that (assuming that it's not a Yellow character that has both via Holocron).

 

Anakin works the same way. Cunning still references the original card when it resolves. That's why Force Choke can't be used on the character with Force Choke. It's why you can blow up Detonator's with Cunning. It's why Anakin hits himself in the face if you Cunning his special.

Cunning
****-

Mar 23 2017 12:29 PM by DarthBlade

Correct. This isn't an opinion. It's how the card is worded and therefore how it works.

No that's not correct. You most certainly can force choke the character owning cunning...see you have been already caught in this loop of interpretation. 

The Power of the Force
-----

Mar 15 2017 12:19 AM by Abyssalfury

Giving specials a value doesn't matter. Specials have a value of 0, but I don't think the game specifically states that value can't be changed - however there's nothing in the rules that references the special's value when you resolve it. So even if your special has a value of X, that doesn't mean you get to resolve it multiple times. It just means that you resolve it as normal, but it technically had a higher value when you resolved it with no actual effect on gameplay.

The Power of the Force
-----

Mar 14 2017 06:48 PM by Wrath
No you can't. It modify only a number on your dice to the number of Upgrades you have. Special don't have number
The Power of the Force
-----

Mar 14 2017 07:39 AM by RafLarkin

I have a fun question. What if you play this card on a special of any card and you have 3 upgrades. Can you resolve 3 times this special ? I'm curiosue what you think about that.

Cunning
****-

Mar 07 2017 03:02 AM by ikeebear

So if you cunning force choke you cant use it on the character owning force choke since it says "another character"? Lets just wait and see. Time will tell...not opinions. 

 

Correct. This isn't an opinion. It's how the card is worded and therefore how it works.

Electroshock
****-

Mar 04 2017 10:50 PM by PillagingSwede

Considering how specific wording is in these games , how does a special equate to showing a value ? It says remove a die SHOWING a value of 2 or less and a special is just a symbol . It may be worth 0 , but its not showing 0 .

It says in the rules that special symbols count as 0.... Leave speculation out of things

Cunning
****-

Mar 03 2017 04:25 PM by DarthBlade

The word "this" is the key. The Vader Dark Apprentice Charecter special specifically says "this character" so the damage is dealt on Vader. You can use thermal detonators as a reference because it too says "this card".  Cunning a pic pocket to balance special abilities for a yellow deck that is limited, Minus Padame.  Also, why do you want to use cunning on BB8? Was that your only move?

So if you cunning force choke you cant use it on the character owning force choke since it says "another character"? Lets just wait and see. Time will tell...not opinions. 

Electroshock
****-

Mar 03 2017 04:23 PM by DarthBlade

because the RRG says specials have a value of 0....clear and simple...lol

Command Center
****-

Feb 28 2017 06:45 PM by Keigi
Required for competitive mill decks.
Command Center
****-

Feb 25 2017 01:01 PM by Entropic
I'd use Echo too. Not dying is a worthy goal.
Cunning
****-

Feb 24 2017 07:05 PM by Rogue80

The word "this" is the key. The Vader Dark Apprentice Charecter special specifically says "this character" so the damage is dealt on Vader. You can use thermal detonators as a reference because it too says "this card".  Cunning a pic pocket to balance special abilities for a yellow deck that is limited, Minus Padame.  Also, why do you want to use cunning on BB8? Was that your only move?

Electroshock
****-

Feb 24 2017 06:43 PM by CLSMerc

Considering how specific wording is in these games , how does a special equate to showing a value ? It says remove a die SHOWING a value of 2 or less and a special is just a symbol . It may be worth 0 , but its not showing 0 .

The Power of the Force
-----

Feb 24 2017 05:46 AM by ikeebear

You got dudded. Awakening says 'Action - Exhaust this support to resolve one of your dice showing a modified side as if it was not modified.' 

 

Using it is an action. Playing The Power of the Force is an action.

 

You can't play two actions combined as one action.

Cunning
****-

Feb 24 2017 05:38 AM by ikeebear

Don't be so sure. You literally have nothing to base this on other than thermal and grenades example which are different because they are required to discard thus keeping a person from never using the special but cunning THEIR OWN to spam it without losing it. I am very very confident cunning the vader special will do damage to the person cunning' it or no kickback damage at all. 

 

It's not based on Thermal Detonator, it's based on Cunning. Cunning says 'Resolve a special ability on another card in play as if it were your card.' It doesn't copy the effect. It doesn't put the effect on the character Cunning is attached to. The effect is still on Darth Vader, Dark Apprentice and you just activated it, choosing the targets (as if it were your card). That means 'this character' still refers to Darth Vader, so he takes a damage. 

 

It's the same reason as when you trigger Sith Holochron's special with Cunning, you return the Holochron to your hand, not the Cunning (and can't use it on your opponent's Holochron for the reasons explained in the Rules Reference 1.1 FAQ). 

The Power of the Force
-----

Feb 24 2017 03:48 AM by unlimitedpower

Had someone use this with Awakening http://www.cardgamed.../awakening-r364 to resolve a modified dice.  Not entirely sure you can do that but wanted to confirm what others thought.  Since Awakening doesn't say 'before you resolve' or something similar I would think that they can't be combined.

Resistance HQ
-----

Feb 20 2017 12:49 AM by Asklepios

Nice!

 

A couple of Force Throws for disrupt seems sensible too.

 

How can we draw cards to max out the damage? Award Ceremony? Splash third colour for Don't Get Cocky?

Commanding Presence
****-

Feb 18 2017 03:14 PM by H00D4M4N

This is pretty awesome on Grievous.  A better chance of landing his damage with the Focus sides, and the special makes his damage output even scarier.

Resistance HQ
-----

Feb 18 2017 12:42 PM by Kaloo

This looks kinda useless until you remember Quin Gon exists. With him its 5 damage a turn if you catch opponent without resources. Take single die Quin Gon, two rebel troopers for defense and abuse resistance HQ, survival gear and all other red stuff that gives shields,

 

Interesting idea. I suppose it could be expanded further given cards like Award Ceremony and Don't Get Cocky (assuming you take a Hired Gun instead of 2 Troopers) to increase the hand size

Resistance HQ
-----

Feb 17 2017 03:55 PM by DarthBlade

I agree it could be helpful but you will technically mill yourself out if you abuse this. Not sure i'd want to use it more than a few times maybe just to kill their weakest character to snowball the match. Doing any more and you could be running a risky tactic. But solid point none the less. 

Browse Full Sets
RSS Feed

Awakenings

174 Cards

Spirit of Rebellion

0 Cards