Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition


Search for Cards
Text:
Order By:
More Search Options
Type:
Faction:
Set:

Unique:
Loyalty:
Restricted:
Cost:
Strength:
Icons:
Reserve:
Income:
Initiative:
Claim:
Hide Search Options
Recent Card Discussion
Daenerys’s Favor
***--

Today, 04:20 PM by Zilvake

So I've been out of the loop for thrones since the start of the second cycle. Wanting to start playing again and play Targ. Is this card worth considering for a burn deck in the current meta?

Aeron Damphair
****-

Yesterday, 11:23 PM by bored2excess

Yes you kneel out your opponent's board on any valar, whether he lives or not. You can also stand your own saves in that scenario (even handed or core stannis or bad decisions on a filthy)

Aeron Damphair
****-

Yesterday, 08:15 PM by hypernexus

So, if I have this character, and I play Valar, and opponent has saves for their characters (dupes etc), does this reaction trigger from each of his attempted saves? Ie, can I kneel each of his saved characters ? If so - beast.

 

From this :

"If a single occurrence creates multiple triggering conditions (such as two characters being killed simultaneously by a claim 2 military challenge), those triggering conditions are handled in shared interrupt/reaction windows, in which abilities that refer to any of the triggering conditions created by that occurrence may be used."

It would appear so.

 

(I understand ktom has explained a very elaborate example of how this interacts with Aemon, but I got lost in the specific complexities of that example and needed to ask this Aemon less scenario)Thanks

The Wall
****-

Yesterday, 08:15 PM by Palpa

 
It is indeed a powerful card, even more so it's something that defines a deck.


It even defines a faction!
The Wall
****-

Yesterday, 11:38 AM by migelpig

Indeed, the player will gain 2 power Tokens* (on his faction card)

 

*Power Icons are the blue symbols on the characters.

 

Don't forget that even if he lost a unopposed challenge (and therefor had to kneel The Wall) he can still stand it with another effect to still claim 2 power tokes at the end of the challenges phase.

 

It is indeed a powerful card, even more so it's something that defines a deck.

The Wall
****-

Yesterday, 10:40 AM by BlackS0ull

Hello,

 

In order to verify what I understand this card I will try to explain down below

 

If the person who is playing with Night's Watch didn't have at least an unopposed challenge in the Challenge Phase (so the card would trigger "Forced Reaction") after the Challenge Phase ends, he will be able to kneel the "The Wall" card in order to gain 2 Power Icons for his faction.

 

Am I right?

 

For me I think I can say that is somehow a powerful card.

 

Thanks!

BlackS0ull

Catelyn Stark
*****

Feb 17 2017 05:31 PM by theamazingmrg

Having seen her in action I would say she is auto-include in every Stark deck. Of course that goes for Tyrion too. If there would be a top ten list of best cards I think these 2 would be in them.

She's definitely the best Stark card in the core set! But she will occasionally not be taken in a sacrifice deck, cos Wolves Cat is great in that deck!
Catelyn Stark
*****

Feb 17 2017 05:20 PM by wordsmith

Having seen her in action I would say she is auto-include in every Stark deck. Of course that goes for Tyrion too. If there would be a top ten list of best cards I think these 2 would be in them.

Catelyn Stark
*****

Feb 17 2017 05:02 PM by theamazingmrg

Do I understand correctly that she prevents also Treachery? So the only effective counter to her are Nightmares or some other effects which prevents her to enter the challenge in the first place (like stealth, challenge icon removal or kneel)?
 
She also prevents Ghaston Grey or Rains of Castamere. I think for the price she has, she is one of the best Stark characters. Even First Snow will not get rid of her... she seems even better than the core Tyrion.


She is great, but Tyrion is a setup piece for a lot of great things (the Hound, ambush, events, dominance, etc.) And he's non-Loyal, so every faction can benefit from him. Cat is also great, but doesn't enable anything and is restricted to Stark main faction. That's why Tyrion is better.
Catelyn Stark
*****

Feb 17 2017 09:23 AM by FedericoFasullo

Do I understand correctly that she prevents also Treachery? So the only effective counter to her are Nightmares or some other effects which prevents her to enter the challenge in the first place (like stealth, challenge icon removal or kneel)?

 

She also prevents Ghaston Grey or Rains of Castamere. I think for the price she has, she is one of the best Stark characters. Even First Snow will not get rid of her... she seems even better than the core Tyrion.

 

yes, stops trachery.

 

she can be stopped with ward also

Catelyn Stark
*****

Feb 16 2017 08:48 PM by wordsmith

Do I understand correctly that she prevents also Treachery? So the only effective counter to her are Nightmares or some other effects which prevents her to enter the challenge in the first place (like stealth, challenge icon removal or kneel)?

 

She also prevents Ghaston Grey or Rains of Castamere. I think for the price she has, she is one of the best Stark characters. Even First Snow will not get rid of her... she seems even better than the core Tyrion.

Support of the People
*****

Feb 16 2017 08:22 PM by wordsmith

Events are "Played" other cards are "Marshaled". "Put into play" is an individual term when you do not "Marshal" a card but "put it directly into the play" area. From RR, page 13:

 

Marshal
In the Marshaling phase, the active player can (as a player action) marshal a character, location, or attachment card (or a duplicate) from his or her hand by paying that card’s gold cost and placing the card in his or her play area. A player pays a gold cost by returning the indicated amount of gold from his or her gold pool to the treasury.

  • When a card is marshaled, it is considered to have entered play.
  • Event cards are not marshaled, they are played.
  • Card abilities that put a card directly into play are not considered to be marshaling the card.

and additional info RR page 16:

Put into Play
Some card abilities may cause a card to be “put into play.” Such abilities place the card directly into play from an out of play state.

  • The gold cost of the card being “put into play” is not paid.
  • Unless otherwise instructed by the “put into play” effect, cards that enter play in this manner must do so in a play area or attachment state that satisfies the rules of marshaling the card.
  • A card that has been put into play is not considered to have been “marshaled.”
  • If an additional copy of a unique card a player already owns and controls is put into play under his or her control, it enters play as a duplicate.

Finally to be complete, RR page 12:

Limited
Limited is a keyword ability. No more than 1 card in total with the limited keyword can be marshaled
(or played, if the card is an event) by each player each round. No more than 1 limited card can be placed by each player during setup.

  • Limited cards that are “put into play” via card effects ignore and are ignored by this restriction.
Support of the People
*****

Feb 16 2017 07:55 PM by Vrgmaister

Put into play is different from play???

Support of the People
*****

Feb 16 2017 05:17 PM by VonWibble
The answer is yes. You can't marshal or play more than 1 limited card per turn, but "put into play" is different to these things.
Support of the People
*****

Feb 16 2017 04:53 PM by Toper

can you put a second limited card into play using support of the people? I assume the answer is no but I figured I'd ask.

You can. Limited only applies to marshaling cards, and does not restrict "put into play" effects (see Limited in the rulebook).

Brothel Madame
****-

Feb 15 2017 09:42 PM by dukman

First snow is a Forced reaction, and those always happen before (player triggered) Reactions so you can't trigger her if she's been returned to hand.

Brothel Madame
****-

Feb 15 2017 09:32 PM by wordsmith

What is the ruling on her in interaction with The First Snow of Winter? First player decides which reaction triggers first?

I think if Madame's reaction is triggered first, opponent has to pay 1 gold because she creates a lasting effect even when she returns to a hand.

Support of the People
*****

Feb 15 2017 04:40 PM by shafeen

can you put a second limited card into play using support of the people? I assume the answer is no but I figured I'd ask.

Ser Gregor Clegane
****-

Feb 14 2017 08:06 PM by wordsmith

You can choose which instance goes first, but you still have to attribute one to each character before looking at the card. Functionally, you'll say "I'll do Marauder's pillage" (discard - is it an event?), then "I'll do Gregor's Pillage" (discard, is it a character?). There's no advantage to one or the other of having the other in the challenge.
 

Unless you have Tywin (Lions box). Then there's a big advantage, because you get to dig a little deeper. "I'll do Marauder's Pillage" (see 2 cards, one 3 cost character, one 7 cost) - discard the 3 cost character, "I'll do Gregor's Pillage" (see 2 cards, the previous 7 cost character and a new card) - discard whichever is best suited to triggering Gregor.

Ok, thx. I was little confused by RR as per Article 4.2.5 (Process challenge resolution keywords) it stated that ...The first player chooses one keyword type (for instance, renown), and then all relevant instances of that keyword resolve simultaneously.

I thought I can't use LoCR Tywin in such case as overall 2 cards are discarded simultaneously. And he can trigger his ability only in case exactly 1 card is discarded. I was looking for a way of controlling the Pillage.

But o.c. it makes more sense as you explain it. In such case it's even better as Tywin don't have to be in a challenge and can contribute to both Mountain and his Marauders individually, each in different challenge.

 

In ideal case Tywin would attack 1st with POW, see what 2 cards are on opponent's deck and prepare the best fit for Gregor (character) and/or Marauders (event).

Ser Gregor Clegane
****-

Feb 14 2017 06:50 PM by istaril

What happens if Ser Gregor wins a challenge together with Ser Gregor Marauders? They both have Pillage and both have Reaction to the Pillage. According to the Rules Reference Pillage is resolved for each character so they will discard 2 cards from opponent's deck. As I understand it - I can then choose which discarded card to apply to which Pillage? Meaning my chance of hitting either suitable character or event increases quite nicely.

And that should work also when defending. Not to mention giving Little Bird to Gregor...

 

You can choose which instance goes first, but you still have to attribute one to each character before looking at the card. Functionally, you'll say "I'll do Marauder's pillage" (discard - is it an event?), then "I'll do Gregor's Pillage" (discard, is it a character?). There's no advantage to one or the other of having the other in the challenge.
 

Unless you have Tywin (Lions box). Then there's a big advantage, because you get to dig a little deeper. "I'll do Marauder's Pillage" (see 2 cards, one 3 cost character, one 7 cost) - discard the 3 cost character, "I'll do Gregor's Pillage" (see 2 cards, the previous 7 cost character and a new card) - discard whichever is best suited to triggering Gregor.

Ser Gregor Clegane
****-

Feb 14 2017 05:26 PM by wordsmith

What happens if Ser Gregor wins a challenge together with Ser Gregor Marauders? They both have Pillage and both have Reaction to the Pillage. According to the Rules Reference Pillage is resolved for each character so they will discard 2 cards from opponent's deck. As I understand it - I can then choose which discarded card to apply to which Pillage? Meaning my chance of hitting either suitable character or event increases quite nicely.

And that should work also when defending. Not to mention giving Little Bird to Gregor...

Sea Bitch
****-

Feb 13 2017 12:07 AM by MagisterWrigley

So excited to use this in melee!

Chataya’s Brothel
**---

Feb 11 2017 06:00 PM by wordsmith

Yeah, this card would be weak even with a cost of zero. The thing is that I usually try to focus on such bad cards because I always think that I'm missing something. It's a good brain exercise.

 

I was also thinking about the Mountains of the Moon location and Clansman trait, as such character could be marshaled and given INT icon to use Brothel. But the price of kneeling even weenie character is too high in my opinion. Brothel should give gold based on number of challenge icons like the Crown of Golden Roses (which gives +STR).

Shagga Son of Dolf
****-

Feb 11 2017 05:49 PM by wordsmith

Treachery works on him right? So in theory he can be ambushed for a price of 1 treachery played.

 

When using the Fortified Position plot, it should be possible to ambush him for zero/no kill cost.

 

Also with LoCR Tyrion, he can be brought back to a hand for a benefit. With combination of Mountains of the Moon he can be given 2nd attack icon, which makes him usable twice for a zero cost but of course in that case he will kill 2 own characters.

Chataya’s Brothel
**---

Feb 11 2017 04:54 PM by doobleg

Pfft! It's currently being voted as one of the worst card of the cycle, why would I bother *reading* it? :P