Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Star Wars LCG


Star Wars Card Comments
Trust Me
Yesterday, 04:46 PM by Majestaat
Can't see a problem. As long as the played card is an event, you can use the interrupt.
Trust Me
Yesterday, 02:19 AM by quantaloup
I don't see why not, but can you damage Trust me to cancel your own events?

I found myself in a situation where I had just played Sliced In to place The False Report on top of my objective pile. I really needed to reset the board. So I gave Trust Me the two damage it needed to be destroyed and replaced on my next turn with the false report.

I don't expect this to happen frequently - it's a desperate move, but in that case, it worked and allowed me to make a nice comeback!
Heroes and Legends
Apr 15 2014 06:36 PM by dbmeboy

hundreds, on 05 April 2014 - 11:52 AM, said:

She certainly is, freeing up all your CDs from focus. This would not prevent you from getting that second Leia on the table.
Actually, that does stop the 2nd Leia from hitting the table. When an effect using "then," you have to successfully complete the first part before you can complete the part following the "then."
A Journey to Dagobah
Apr 08 2014 07:17 PM by quantaloup
You are absolutely right. Thanks for pointing that out. I'll fix that deck right away.
A Journey to Dagobah
Apr 08 2014 06:28 PM by Majestaat

quantaloup, on 08 April 2014 - 02:53 PM, said:

I like using this objective with The False Report. ;)

Then you're cheating, because A Journey to Dagobah is Jedi affiliation only, while The False Report is Smugglers and Spies only.
A Journey to Dagobah
Apr 08 2014 02:53 PM by quantaloup
I like using this objective with The False Report. ;)
Experimental Tech Lab
Apr 08 2014 04:02 AM by Majestaat
Both taking and keeping the force count as winning the Force Struggle.
Experimental Tech Lab
Apr 08 2014 03:49 AM by Jahzir
So as the dark side player if the force struggle is tied but but you retain control of the force does that count as a win? Or do you actually need one extra force icon to allow you to removed a focus token?
Hive of Scum and Villainy
Apr 07 2014 11:39 AM by hundreds
That's what I figured. So if the unit only has white icons, it is not affected.
Hive of Scum and Villainy
Apr 06 2014 06:26 PM by Majestaat
That's right. Remember that when an icon appears in parenthesis in the text (ex: Yoda), it refers to white icons. If there is no such parenthesis, then it's black icons.
Hive of Scum and Villainy
Apr 06 2014 02:15 PM by hundreds
The objective says that units attacking it lose a unit combat icon. Is it a black icon?
Heroes and Legends
Apr 05 2014 11:52 AM by hundreds
She certainly is, freeing up all your CDs from focus. This would not prevent you from getting that second Leia on the table.
Heroes and Legends
Apr 05 2014 11:12 AM by quantaloup
This action is really fun.

Say you have one Leia in play and one in hand and you want to trigger this action, is she "captured" before you can put her back in your hand?
Trandoshan Security Team
Apr 01 2014 06:23 PM by BobaFett

Majestaat, on 31 March 2014 - 05:00 PM, said:

Just to be sure, does step 5 apply separately or equally to both players?
An example to clarify:
LS attacks with 2 units. DS defends with none but has two ready TST in play. LS wins edge and strikes with one unit, while DS strikes with one TST. Now then... since there's still a ready LS unit attacking, does that enable both players to get a second round of strikes or is it limited to LS only?

thats correct. At step 5 you check for any remaining ready units, if there is any, both side still have a chance to make a strike. this continues till there are no more ready participating units, then you go to step 6.


hundreds, on 31 March 2014 - 06:52 PM, said:

Yeah this really kind of confuses me.

Its really not that complicated. Litteraly, if you follow the steps it works just fine.

hundreds, on 31 March 2014 - 06:52 PM, said:

The framework instructions above seem to indicate that you can only strike with both if there is an alternating LS unit that strikes. But that seems a bit arbitrary, since striking with ready units is never dependent on "taking turns" in an engagement.

thats incorrect. the framework does not indicate that. you could strike with both if LS had no defending units and you had a single attacker, AS LONG AS you struck with both TSTs PRIOR to the lone attacking unit focuses to strike. say you had vader attacking. no LS defenders, you autowin edge and strike with vader first, LS then has a chance to strike with a unit IF ABLE, now your onto step 5 and check for any remaining ready units. there are none, so no TSTs get to strike. however, had you struck with your first TST, then you move to step 5, make your check, vader is still a ready participating unit, you strike with your next TST, move to step 5, again check for ready units, and vader is still there, so now he gets to swing. You just need to make sure units like CCWG, chewie w/ bowcaster, and TST all get their strikes in before your check that finds no more remaining ready participating units.

hundreds, on 31 March 2014 - 06:52 PM, said:

If I attack with 5 units and my opponent defends with 1, I WILL be striking with all 5 regardless of whether the opponent has as many units as me.

not sure what this has to do with this discussion. thats a regular engagement, its when you have units that can strike into, and out of engagament without actually participating in it.

hundreds, on 31 March 2014 - 06:52 PM, said:

Can someone reference the thread pertaining to this so I can follow up there?

its in the rules thread, that was the framework nate french emailed to someone explaining how these types of units work. there wasn't much discussion though because its pretty straight forward. follow steps, complete engagement.

if you want to come up with some specific scenarios that are messing you up, feel free, we'll work though them and get you straightened out
Trandoshan Security Team
Mar 31 2014 06:52 PM by hundreds
Yeah this really kind of confuses me. The framework instructions above seem to indicate that you can only strike with both if there is an alternating LS unit that strikes. But that seems a bit arbitrary, since striking with ready units is never dependent on "taking turns" in an engagement. If I attack with 5 units and my opponent defends with 1, I WILL be striking with all 5 regardless of whether the opponent has as many units as me. Can someone reference the thread pertaining to this so I can follow up there?
Trandoshan Security Team
Mar 31 2014 05:00 PM by Majestaat
Just to be sure, does step 5 apply separately or equally to both players?
An example to clarify:
LS attacks with 2 units. DS defends with none but has two ready TST in play. LS wins edge and strikes with one unit, while DS strikes with one TST. Now then... since there's still a ready LS unit attacking, does that enable both players to get a second round of strikes or is it limited to LS only?
Trandoshan Security Team
Mar 29 2014 11:03 PM by BobaFett

hundreds, on 29 March 2014 - 03:13 AM, said:

I would think that same line of reasoning would apply even to just the one. Since the one TST is not considered participating, then the engagement ends. But I have also read somewhere that if you did declare some other defender, that after striking with him, you would still be able to strike with units like TST before finishing up the engagement.


Majestaat is correct and the entire interaction with units like this and others (winguard, chewie w/ bowcaster, etc) is covered in the rules thread, but i have highlighted the pertinent stuff i think.

When resolving strikes/ending an engagement, these steps apply:
1) (Framework) The player who won the edge battle resolves 1 strike, if able.
2) Player Action window
3) (Framework) The player who lost the edge battle resolves 1 strike, if able.
4) Player Action window
5) Check to: "Repeat if any participating units are still ready."
-If yes, return to step 1, above
-if no, proceed to step 6, below
6) (Framework) Check for surviving units and reward unopposed
7) (Framework) Engagement ends

so if you declare no defenders you would still have a single oppertunity to strike with something outside the engagement if you have that capability. If you have 2 trandoshan security teams, your out of luck unless you have declared a different unit as a defender at which point you could strike with TST, still having your ready participating unit, then again with your second TST, still having a ready participating unit, and then lastly, strike with your actual defender. Anyways, hope this helps.
Trandoshan Security Team
Mar 29 2014 03:13 AM by hundreds
I would think that same line of reasoning would apply even to just the one. Since the one TST is not considered participating, then the engagement ends. But I have also read somewhere that if you did declare some other defender, that after striking with him, you would still be able to strike with units like TST before finishing up the engagement.
Trandoshan Security Team
Mar 29 2014 02:37 AM by Majestaat
Can't really see why not. However, if you have both TST in play and the opponent is attacking with only one unit, you shouldn't get to strike with both your trandoshans due to the rulebook's wording on page 31. Says the player who won the edge (LS if you didn't declare defenders, and thus, didn't get to participate in the edge battle) strikes first, then the defender, and the cycle repeats IF THERE ARE READY PARTICIPATING UNITS LEFT. Since LS sent only one attackers and the trandoshans aren't participating, there are no more ready units to keep the strike cycle going.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
Phase I Dark Trooper
Mar 29 2014 02:27 AM by Majestaat
That's right.
Trandoshan Security Team
Mar 29 2014 01:42 AM by hundreds
Just to clarify, you can't strike from outside an engagement with these guys if you didn't declare any defenders... right?
Phase I Dark Trooper
Mar 28 2014 10:57 PM by dmday512
When focusing to strike does unit need to be double focused because it is considered to be committed to the force?
Slicing In
Mar 27 2014 05:56 PM by Budgernaut
Wow, Verpine! I didn't expect to see these guys any time soon. I love how the art is digging into all the many Star Wars species.
Clearing House
Mar 27 2014 01:30 PM by Demas
Stating the obvious, but a player last night needed this clarification...

Frame effects- such as drawing to your reserve during the draw phase- are not card effects and therefore do not trigger the Clearing House's reaction.
Force Shockwave
Mar 21 2014 08:16 AM by DarkLordCaedus
I think he looks like Darth Malgus, and the guys getting tossed aside look like Old Republic guards from the decieved video.
Han Solo
Mar 20 2014 04:36 PM by Kamitsu
This card is going to be amazing with the new heroes and legends objective!
Emperor Palpatine
Mar 20 2014 12:44 PM by Miximus
The number of objectives that the LS has destroyed are always counted from the number of cards in the LS victory pile. With palpatine being able to take an objective from that victory pile and put it back into play, the number of destroyed objectives remaining is one less.

This version of palpatine is only available for play in the multiplayer DS challenge deck. So no it is not part of the next force cycle and it is not available for the standard 1v1 format.
Emperor Palpatine
Mar 20 2014 03:33 AM by Vorrt
Follow up questions:

Does this card's effect change the number of objectives the LS has destroyed?


Also, is the part of the next force cycle?
Emperor Palpatine
Mar 20 2014 12:04 AM by Timbucktoo
does this mean the DS player would have 4 Objectives in play?
Emperor Palpatine
Mar 18 2014 04:52 AM by Majestaat
If that was the case, the card itself would say so. Objective stays in play and LS has to destroy it once again.
Categories

Core

222 Cards

The Hoth Cycle


  1. The Desolation of Hoth
  2. The Search for Skywalker
  3. A Dark Time
  4. Assault on Echo Base
  5. The Battle of Hoth
  6. Escape from Hoth
192 Cards

Edge of Darkness

132 Cards

Balance of the Force

90 Cards

Echoes of the Force Cycle


  1. Heroes and Legends
  2. Lure of the Dark Side
  3. Knowledge and Defense
  4. Join Us or Die
  5. It Binds All Things
  6. Darkness and Light
30 Cards

Recent Rulings and Errata
  • Last Defense of Hoth - No Cards in Hand
    Jul 03 2013 07:04 PM by TinyGrimes
    You may trigger this effect if you have no cards in hand.
    Last Defense of Hoth
    Source: Nate, FFG
  • Wedge can be reduced.
    May 20 2013 09:59 PM by TinyGrimes
    If Wedge Antilles is played as an enhancement it's cost is reduced by In You Must Go.
    Wedge Antilles
    Source: Nate FFG
  • Lightsaber Deflection and cannot be damaged.
    May 20 2013 09:55 PM by TinyGrimes
    If a unit cannot receive damage (for instance a unit shielded with Preparation for Battle out and the dial at 4 or lower), you cannot use Lightsaber Deflection...
    Lightsaber Deflection Preparation for Battle
    Source: Nate FFG
  • Renegade Squadron Mobilization Draw
    May 20 2013 09:49 PM by TinyGrimes
    When A New Hope is played, you can respond to each unit individually in order to draw a card for each unit that leaves play.
    A New Hope Renegade Squadron Mobilization
    Source: Nate FFG
  • Protection, Shields, and Preparations for Battle
    May 11 2013 01:42 AM by TinyGrimes
    You would not be able to use the protect keyword if the protecting unit cannot be damaged.
    Guardian of Peace Preparation for Battle
    Source: Nate FFG
  • Get Me Solo!
    May 11 2013 01:39 AM by TinyGrimes
    As the card instructs a player to name a card, he must name the title of the card. Describing a card will not meet the effect's requirement.
    Get Me Solo!
    Source: Nate FFG
  • Refresh reactions turn 1.
    Apr 16 2013 08:16 PM by TinyGrimes
    The reaction can be triggered during the LS player's first turn. Only step 1 of the refresh phase is skipped.
    A Message from Beyond Fleeing the Empire Last Minute Rescue Mobilize the Squadrons Questionable Contacts Tribal Support
    Source: Rulebook pg. 12
  • Fear Ruling
    Apr 12 2013 04:52 AM by TinyGrimes
    When this card is played remove the force card from the attached character.
    Fear
    Source: Nate French Email
  • Fleeing The Empire Errata
    Apr 12 2013 01:23 AM by Darksbane
    Should read: “Reaction: After your refresh phase ends, ...”
    Fleeing the Empire
    Source: Star Wars The Card Game FAQ v1.1

Recent Star Wars Articles

Fearless and Inventive - Heroes and Legends Review

03 April 2014 - 03:38 AM

So the pack has finally hit and I've decided to give my two cents on the beginning of the Echoes of the Force Cycle!

Fearless and Inventive - Farewell Current Meta

19 March 2014 - 02:23 AM

It's finally here gang, Heroes & Legends. It's no longer a myth, like the Easter Bunny, Santa Claus, and the Cleveland Browns Super Bowl chances. In celebration of the end of this meta, I'm going to go over a couple of light side decks that I ran at some of these last couple of Store Championships.



Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.