Apeirophobia
Type: Event Faction: Hastur
Cost: 2
Game Text:
Madness.
Action: Choose a non-Ancient One character. That character's controller chooses to either have that character to go insane or discards X cards from his hand. X is the skill of the chosen character.
Flavor Text: Unable to grasp the infinite, he started to gibber and drool.
Set: NN
Number: 76
Illustrator: Magali Villeneuve
If this is played on a character that cannot go insane, is discard the only legal choice?
Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Question about Apeirophobia
Started by
Jan
, Jan 22 2014 06:21 AM
#1
Posted 22 January 2014 - 06:21 AM

#2
Posted 22 January 2014 - 07:46 AM

#3
Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:40 PM

#4
Posted 22 January 2014 - 10:06 PM

A note regarding Apeirophobia:
It received an errata and should now read "Play during your operations phase."
Also, if your opponent can neither drive the targeted character insane nor discard the exact number of cards required by X, then your opponent does nothing (FAQ 3.2 Section 2.6 "The Words Up To"). I believe that's correct, though if I'm wrong I'm sure someone will be along shortly to correct me.
It received an errata and should now read "Play during your operations phase."
Also, if your opponent can neither drive the targeted character insane nor discard the exact number of cards required by X, then your opponent does nothing (FAQ 3.2 Section 2.6 "The Words Up To"). I believe that's correct, though if I'm wrong I'm sure someone will be along shortly to correct me.
#5
Posted 22 January 2014 - 10:29 PM

#6
Posted 23 January 2014 - 08:47 AM

I ... suppose you are right.
I used to think the reason why in the given example 'Byakhee Attack' works the way it's described was because of the 'if able' clause. But apparently, the description of 'if able' has been revised. Now, it only seems to define what happens if only some of your opponents can discard exactly two cards. I always felt the definition of 'if able' to be confusing, at best. Food for thought.
I used to think the reason why in the given example 'Byakhee Attack' works the way it's described was because of the 'if able' clause. But apparently, the description of 'if able' has been revised. Now, it only seems to define what happens if only some of your opponents can discard exactly two cards. I always felt the definition of 'if able' to be confusing, at best. Food for thought.
#7
Posted 23 January 2014 - 10:23 PM

I do believe you don't have to have the exact amount to be discarded. Byakhee attack works that way but Apeirophobia doesn't I don't think.
#8
Posted 23 January 2014 - 10:36 PM

AFAIK if opponent has not enough cards he discards all he has. I found this ruling bizzare but its becouse card doesnt say "choose and discard" so its not targeted discard, so you have to go as far as you can.
If able or choose and discard would make it all or nothing.
I'd love to be wrong on this one, but this was the conclusion we reached after quite a long thread on FFG forums some time ago.
Hope someone asks Damon and he makes this ruling invalid
i think this card is kinda stupid.
If able or choose and discard would make it all or nothing.
I'd love to be wrong on this one, but this was the conclusion we reached after quite a long thread on FFG forums some time ago.
Hope someone asks Damon and he makes this ruling invalid

#9
Posted 07 February 2014 - 08:20 PM

I asked Damon for a clarification on this card:
Q: If the target character cannot go insane, and the character's control cannot discard the exact number of cards equal to the chosen character's skill, what happens?
A: You discard up to X. All cards are drawn and discarded individually and when you are directed to draw or discard a number you do so one at a time until the number is reached or you are no longer able to draw/discard. Up to is a qualifier that lets a person choose any number up to the given number. IF it was included in this effect the controller of the character could choose to discard 0 cards since up to is the upper limit but has no minimum number. The only way that drawing or discarding a number of cards fails because you do not have the stated number is when that effect directs you to choose that number of cards. Since you must choose that number and are unable to do so what you do with those cards is ignored since you failed to choose them.
My apologies for giving the wrong answer above. Honestly, without Damon's clarification it's doubtful I would've ever figured out how to play this card correctly given its wording and section 2.6 of the FAQ regarding "Up To".
Q: If the target character cannot go insane, and the character's control cannot discard the exact number of cards equal to the chosen character's skill, what happens?
A: You discard up to X. All cards are drawn and discarded individually and when you are directed to draw or discard a number you do so one at a time until the number is reached or you are no longer able to draw/discard. Up to is a qualifier that lets a person choose any number up to the given number. IF it was included in this effect the controller of the character could choose to discard 0 cards since up to is the upper limit but has no minimum number. The only way that drawing or discarding a number of cards fails because you do not have the stated number is when that effect directs you to choose that number of cards. Since you must choose that number and are unable to do so what you do with those cards is ignored since you failed to choose them.
My apologies for giving the wrong answer above. Honestly, without Damon's clarification it's doubtful I would've ever figured out how to play this card correctly given its wording and section 2.6 of the FAQ regarding "Up To".
#10
Posted 08 February 2014 - 12:01 PM
