Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Prized X

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
doulos2k

doulos2k

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 1798 posts
This is the actual text from the insert for the Conquest and Defiance Cycle regarding Prized.

New Keyword: Prized X

"Prized" is a new keyword introduced in the Conquest and Defiance cycle. When a card with the prized keyword is killed or discarded from play, when a prized event card is played, and when a prized plot card is moved to its owner's used plot pile, each of that player's opponents claims X power for his or her House, where X is the value following the prized keyword on the card. This power is claimed as a passive effect.

If a prized event card's triggered effect is canceled when the card is played, the prized keyword is considered a separate effect (which cannot be canceled) and the power for the prized keyword is still claimed.

The phrase "a prized card" refers to a card that has the prized keyword.

==============

So, this puts to rest the wondering regarding events, but still doesn't completely clear up how the new agendas affect cards that already have the prized keyword printed on them. (Does "gain prized 1 when leaving play" PLUS a printed "Prized 1" equal "prized 2" or does it equal "prized 1" because of stacking keywords? Definitely not clear (all arguments aside regarding stacking keywords and additive keywords and qualified keywords... lions, and tigers, and bears... oh my.)

#2
Jensen22

Jensen22

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
You know what assuming does, even more so in Agot.

But If I had to guess, I would say they do not stack, based on the stacking keywords theory.

So, since that is my guess, I am sure it will not work that way, and they will stack...

If 1+2 =3 then 3-2=1. Unless of course its Tuesday then who the hell knows...
  • NorthMaester likes this

#3
Bomb

Bomb

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2588 posts
I would play with it like each Prized X keyword added is treated like a separate, unrelated keyword. So, Prized 1 being already printed on the OHH card would gain an additional Prized 1 from the agenda. This would also mean that "loses all keywords" will literally wipe all Prized keywords completely out.

EDIT: I'm just saying this is how I would currently play it. Immunity, for example, stacks as a keyword because modifiers make it a unique keyword.
  • kizerman86 likes this

#4
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1741 posts
We really need an FAQ on this. If we treat it like any qualified keyword (eg Immunity to), then it's easy enough to say that Prized 1 is different from Prized 2, and so on. As such, a character dying with Prized 1 and Prized 2 would trigger both keywords, resulting in 3 power being given to all opponents from 2 seperate effects. Furthermore, "loses all keywords' would be loses on instance of 'Prized 1' 'Prized 2' etc. This also means that you can't give Jaquen Prized 15 (as it'd be a qualified keyword).

So far so good.

The real question then is whether multiple instances of the same qualified keyword (e.g. 'Prized 1') stack and each resolve seperately. Sure, having two instances means it won't be stripped (entirely) by Men of Pride/King Balon's host, but does it mean that since a card with Prized 1 died, your opponents all claim 1 power? Or 1 power for each instance of the keyword 'Prized 1'.

I assume the designer intent is for them to stack, but I'd say its definitely worth sending off to the devs.

Note: For the last discussion of this (with ktom action), see here.
  • Kennon and PulseGlazer like this

#5
VonWibble

VonWibble

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2996 posts
Put it this way, if they don't stack, taking lots of OOH prized cards is a good way around the disadvantage of Conquest.

I agree with the above post, unfortunately we will have to wait to see for sure.

#6
Skelton

Skelton

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 2099 posts
I would be very surprised if they don't stack.

#7
Vaapad

Vaapad

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 560 posts
Did someone send the question to Nate already?