Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Pay Apology Accepted with the Officer you sac?


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#21
Saej

Saej

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
Along the same lines, when you cancel Yoda, You Seek Yoda with Imperial Supression, does the dial still go up 1?

#22
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts

The answer to this is known, and is yes. The reason is that IS cancels effects only, not the cost(s). In YYSY, everything up to "to", in italics below, is a cost. Everything after "to" is the effect(s).

 

"Increase the Death Star dial by 1 to search your deck for Yoda, and put him into play, if able. Shuffle your deck.



#23
Saej

Saej

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
Ok, that makes sense. So if Dark had a similar event (Palpy, You Seek Palpy) and it lowered the dial, Counterstroke would cancel the dial drop because it makes you treat the event text box as blank. Yes?
  • chunkygorillas likes this

#24
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3924 posts

Ok, that makes sense. So if Dark had a similar event (Palpy, You Seek Palpy) and it lowered the dial, Counterstroke would cancel the dial drop because it makes you treat the event text box as blank. Yes?


The opposite. The dial drop would still happen just like canceling the effects of YYSY does not cancel the dial increase.

#25
Saej

Saej

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts

The opposite. The dial drop would still happen just like canceling the effects of YYSY does not cancel the dial increase.

 

Sorry, I was misremembering the text, I was on mobile.  Thanks!



#26
Mike1977

Mike1977

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 843 posts

I similar situation I had come up yesterday...

 

Yoda was on the table with a Force Cleansing on him, and he was focused.

 

Its possible to play You Seek Yoda to bring the dial up 1 and remove the focus right?



#27
Majestaat

Majestaat

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1913 posts

At least that's how we've played it here. Force Cleansing doesn't care about the reason the dial is going up, as long as it's going up.



#28
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts

Correct.



#29
chiller087

chiller087

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 836 posts
So because "Shuffle your deck" is a separate effect line than searching for Yoda and putting him into play, it's legal to play YYSY even if Yoda is already in play?

*EDIT*. Or is it legal anyway since you are not required to put him into play if you are unable to? The searching through one's deck would satisfy FAQ 3.6?

#30
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3924 posts

So because "Shuffle your deck" is a separate effect line than searching for Yoda and putting him into play, it's legal to play YYSY even if Yoda is already in play?
*EDIT*. Or is it legal anyway since you are not required to put him into play if you are unable to? The searching through one's deck would satisfy FAQ 3.6?

I believe it's that searching for Yoda is enough... But honestly the interpretation of 3.6 just keeps getting more complicated and arbitrary so maybe it is the reshuffle part. I liked it better before... Sure I could initiate effects that I knew would fail occasionally to my benefit, but at least it was clear what I could do and what I couldn't do. Now, every time a new borderline case of "is this an independent aspect of the effect" comes up, I can't definitively say without clarification.

#31
killerangel1863

killerangel1863

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 192 posts

So because "Shuffle your deck" is a separate effect line than searching for Yoda and putting him into play, it's legal to play YYSY even if Yoda is already in play?

*EDIT*. Or is it legal anyway since you are not required to put him into play if you are unable to? The searching through one's deck would satisfy FAQ 3.6?

 

As an added question to this... If you can use YYSY, what happens to the Yoda you just pulled from your deck if there's already one in play? The card says to search for one in your deck, and put him into play if able, nothing about going to your hand, back to your deck, or into the discard pile.



#32
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3924 posts

As an added question to this... If you can use YYSY, what happens to the Yoda you just pulled from your deck if there's already one in play? The card says to search for one in your deck, and put him into play if able, nothing about going to your hand, back to your deck, or into the discard pile.


It stays in the deck. You've searched your deck for him, but as you cannot put him in play he never leaves the deck in the first place and is still there when you reshuffle and move on with the game.

#33
BobaFett

BobaFett

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3037 posts

and don't forget to move the dial up 1 as well.



#34
chiller087

chiller087

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 836 posts
Has anybody heard from FFG regarding the original question in this thread?

#35
KennedyHawk

KennedyHawk

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1890 posts

Not yet from my e-mail :(



#36
BobaFett

BobaFett

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3037 posts
Three is a new entry in the FAQ that says you can't anticipate board state when using effects and gives the example that you can't pay for bamboozled with a character and then pull that focus off him and transfer it to another character unit.

That seems to be in the same vein, but I can't seem to get rules questioned answered these days.....

#37
KennedyHawk

KennedyHawk

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1890 posts

Three is a new entry in the FAQ that says you can't anticipate board state when using effects and gives the example that you can't pay for bamboozled with a character and then pull that focus off him and transfer it to another character unit.

That seems to be in the same vein, but I can't seem to get rules questioned answered these days.....


I think these are different the FAQ is talking about checking the game state before paying costs so if no characters have a focus you can not use the event because there is nothing to move until after you pay. In this case you check for event completion and there is an officer to sac so you can pay the costs and complete the event.

Then again rulings have confounded me before so who knows

#38
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 608 posts
Not the same. As you have Motti on table , you have ressource to pay for it AND an Officer unit to sac. Checking the game State allow the card to be played. But does it resolve? I see nothing that opposes it, but no official answer.

#39
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 608 posts
We are waiting for FFG answer, as our Sénator asked for it. I'll keep you posted

#40
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 608 posts
Question :
Can I generate the 2 ressources of the Apology Accepted event card to play the card with an Officer (like a Duty Officer) and then sacrifice this Officer to pay the additionnal cost of the Event?


Nate answer :
All costs are paid at the same time, so you may use the Duty Officers to pay the resource cost and to fulfill the sacrifice.