Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Official Nate Rule Clarifications


  • Please log in to reply
107 replies to this topic

#101
Kennon2nd

Kennon2nd

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts

Ha, OKTarg beat me to the punch on explaining that one.



#102
slothgodfather

slothgodfather

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2951 posts

I got a clarification from Caleb:

 

Hi,
I have to amend my previous answer to your question after reviewing the FAQ. Item 1.07 Control of Objective Cards specifies: “When a player claims an objective card, he gains control of that card unless otherwise directed by card a effect.” So, it is not possible to discard Local Trouble by the shadow effect of Pickpocket, but you could choose Alcaron’s Scroll if it was attached to a hero you controlled.
Sorry for the confusion.
Cheers,
Caleb


  • OKTarg likes this

#103
zeb

zeb

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 39 posts

Keyword Timing - Forced vs Surge

 

Q by Tubarush:

 

My specific scenario: I am playing Battle of Carn Dum. Thaurdir has 2 Shadow Cards. I draw a Treachery card with the Sorcery trait and the Surge keyword. Which happens first? A Forced effect or the Surge keyword?

 

A from Caleb:

 

The sequence would be:

  1. When Revealed effects

  2. Thaurdir effects (shadow card, flip, attack)

  3. Surge


  • Lecitadin likes this

#104
bolomolo

bolomolo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts

Tactics Eowyn:

1. Uses her ability

2. Gets destroyed 

3. Is brought back with Fortune or Faith

 

Does the game "remember" that the ability was used?



#105
slothgodfather

slothgodfather

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2951 posts

I will say yes, because the trigger is per player (not card) and in this case, per group.   If this where not the case, then the limitation on Landroval would make no sense.


  • Valdemart likes this

#106
laco

laco

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Multiple traps in staging area and incoming multiple enemies...

 

Rules Question:
> Hello! How is it with multiple traps in staging area and multiple enemies incoming here at the same time? Like trolls in We Must Away, Ere Break of Day scenario, or trolls in Conflict at the Carrock scenario. Can I choose which enemy goes to witch trap? Or one enemy goes to all trap? Thanks for your answer. Laco.

 

Hi Laco,
Whenever several effects resolve simultaneously, it is up to the first player to decide how they resolve. If you have multiple traps in the staging area when you advance to stage 2 of Conflict at the Carrock and add 4 Troll enemies to the staging area, the first player will decide which enemy to attach each trap to because they are all valid targets.
Now if there were multiple traps in the staging area when just 1 enemy was added to the staging area, then each trap would be attached to that enemy.
Cheers,
Caleb



#107
RichardPlunkett

RichardPlunkett

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Rules Question: Ranged attacker and Unexpected Courage.

Can I use Ranged and Unexpected Courage (or other readying effects) to have an attacker of mine participate in two separate attacks against the same enemy, if that enemy is engaged with another player?

 

Consider this setup:

Player 1: Hero1 (Ranged and UC)

Player 2: Hero2 and EnemyA (engaged)

 

Specifically is the following legal:

*) When Player1 is the active attacker, Player1 declares an attack against EnemyA exhausting Hero1, then uses UC to ready him. Then,

*) When Player2 is the active attacker, Player2 declares an attack against EnemyA, exhausting Hero2, and Player1 has Hero1 also exhausts to participate.

 

Thanks! Richard

 

Answer: Hi Richard,
It is legal for a Ranged character to participate in two separate attacks against the same enemy so long as your partner declares one of those attacks. Your example is correct.
Cheers,
Caleb


 


  • slothgodfather and RichardPlunkett like this

#108
Pseudoslurp

Pseudoslurp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Thanks it's more clear than before...