Yes. It's official. #1 is correct.
Like Flying or Tankbusta Bommaz, the damage is modified when determining how much damage should be assigned in the first place.
Yes. It's official. #1 is correct.
Like Flying or Tankbusta Bommaz, the damage is modified when determining how much damage should be assigned in the first place.
When a single effect damages multiple units, the damage is placed on all units simultaneously in Step 3. If those units have enough damage to destroy them, they are removed from play immediately - before any reactions can be triggered.
Xavaes needs to survive whatever it is that kills the unit he is reacting to in order to get you a Cultist.
What will happen to Etnerial Envoy c Gun Drones on it, after the Area Effect attack? He'll be back in the HQ or will be on the planet?
Per the RRG Area Effect definition, Area Effect replaces steps 2 and 3 of the attack (declaring defenders, dealing damage), and is therefore resolved within the attack. Once Ethereal Envoy (Forced: After this unit resolves its attack, move it to your HQ.) resolves its attack (which therefore includes any Area Effect it executed within that attack), it moves to your HQ per its effect.
So just to clarify, after the Runtherders are destroyed, they still get a Snotling, right? Because they did take damage.
Yes, but only because the Runtherder's ability is an Interrupt. It triggers before the damage is actually taken, so would be triggered before the damage that destroys it knocks it out of play.
It the Runtherder's ability was a Reaction, it would have to survive taking damage in order to get a Snotling because you can't trigger Reactions from the discard pile (unless they specifically say so, of course).
Per the RRG Area Effect definition, Area Effect replaces steps 2 and 3 of the attack (declaring defenders, dealing damage), and is therefore resolved within the attack. Once Ethereal Envoy (Forced: After this unit resolves its attack, move it to your HQ.) resolves its attack (which therefore includes any Area Effect it executed within that attack), it moves to your HQ per its effect.
Per a ruling from FFG on March 8, 2016, using AE does not trigger "resolve an attack" effects this answer should no longer be considered valid. Rather if an Envoy with gun drones uses the AE they will remain at the planet.