Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Abilities: What happens when a cost reducer event is cancelled

Bigga Is Betta Nullify Ability Deployment Cancel

Best Answer PBrennan , 04 October 2014 - 07:13 AM

Bigga Is Betta interrupts the deployment as a whole, creating a lasting effect of a cost reduction of 2 plus dealing it 1 damage.

 

Nullify then interrupts the playing of Bigga Is Betta, cancelling this lasting effect. Nullify does not cancel the playing of Bigga Is Betta, it just cancels its effect. So the resource cost of Bigga Is Betta is still paid (though it be 0 in this case), any ability cost it had would still be resolved (none in this case), and BIB is discarded.

 

Once these interrupts to deployment have resolved, the original deployment then continues. Once you get to step 3 pf the deployment process (RRG pp 8-9), there are now no cost reductions to apply. At step 4:

 

- If you can't pay the deployment cost, the deployment attempt fails. You do not have to pay what resources you have - you either pay the full cost and deploy the unit or pay nothing and don't deploy the unit. You are also not obliged to use other cost reducers if you have them.

 

- If you can still pay the deployment cost with the resources you have, the deployment must continue. The process has started after all. But you gain the benefit that you no longer need to deal the unit 1 damage (because Nullify also cancelled this aspect of the effect.).

 

The following tutorial provides more detail on how the ability/deployment initiation process works:

http://www.cardgamed...n-interactions/

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
Etaywah

Etaywah

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1046 posts
Bigga Is Betta:
Interrupt: When you deploy an {O} unit, reduce its cost by 2. Deal 1 damage to that unit after it enters play.

Nullify:
Interrupt: When your opponent plays an event card, exhaust a unique {E} unit to cancel its effects.

Say you cannot afford a 3 cost without Bigga Is Betta. You pay 1 resource, then you reduce by 2, dealing 1 damage to deploy.

Eldar opponent uses Nullify on Bigga is Betta.

What happens here?

Edited by Toqtamish, 20 November 2014 - 03:04 AM.
Formatting


#2
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts
✓  Best Answer

Bigga Is Betta interrupts the deployment as a whole, creating a lasting effect of a cost reduction of 2 plus dealing it 1 damage.

 

Nullify then interrupts the playing of Bigga Is Betta, cancelling this lasting effect. Nullify does not cancel the playing of Bigga Is Betta, it just cancels its effect. So the resource cost of Bigga Is Betta is still paid (though it be 0 in this case), any ability cost it had would still be resolved (none in this case), and BIB is discarded.

 

Once these interrupts to deployment have resolved, the original deployment then continues. Once you get to step 3 pf the deployment process (RRG pp 8-9), there are now no cost reductions to apply. At step 4:

 

- If you can't pay the deployment cost, the deployment attempt fails. You do not have to pay what resources you have - you either pay the full cost and deploy the unit or pay nothing and don't deploy the unit. You are also not obliged to use other cost reducers if you have them.

 

- If you can still pay the deployment cost with the resources you have, the deployment must continue. The process has started after all. But you gain the benefit that you no longer need to deal the unit 1 damage (because Nullify also cancelled this aspect of the effect.).

 

The following tutorial provides more detail on how the ability/deployment initiation process works:

http://www.cardgamed...n-interactions/


  • Skyknight likes this

#3
KennedyHawk

KennedyHawk

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1890 posts

So if this is cancelled and you can not afford the unit does it take up your deployment action. Or do you get another go?



#4
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts

RRG 1.2 states:

On a deployment turn a player must do one of the following:
- deploy one card from his hand
- initiate one action ability (see page 3)
- pass

 

If a deployment is cancelled, then you've not successfully completed one of the options (which you must do) and therefore your deployment turn is not over. You must either initiate another deployment, or initiate an action, or pass.

(This has now been confirmed by the design team.)


  • KennedyHawk and Skyknight like this

#5
spectre

spectre

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts

I have a follow-up question:

 

 

- If you can still pay the deployment cost however, the deployment must continue. The process has started after all. But you gain the benefit that you no longer need to deal the unit 1 damage (because Nullify also cancelled this aspect of the effect.)

 

How do any other cost reducers factor into this? Do I have to use Bigtoof Banana if able, or do we only check the available resources?



#6
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts

Only the available resources. I've updated the best answer to reflect that if a cost reducer is cancelled, and you don't have the available resources, there is no obligation to use other cost reducers if you have them.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Bigga Is Betta, Nullify, Ability, Deployment, Cancel