Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Recent Ruling on Stay on Target *The ruling on the field has been reversed*

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
149 replies to this topic

#101
holliday88

holliday88

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts

instant-replay_6.jpg


  • yodaman and Jarratt like this

#102
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3930 posts

*
POPULAR

Stay on Target (0702/0712) reads: “You may put a Pilot card into play from your hand or discard pile as an enhancement on a target friendly Vehicle unit.” And the pilot (X) keyword rules state: “When a card with the pilot (X) keyword is put into play by a card effect, the player resolving the effect chooses whether it enters play as a unit or as a Pilot enhancement."
 
While the pilot rules do generally permit a player to make a choice as to how a pilot card enters play, effects like Stay on Target dictate how that choice must be made. This is a situation in which the Golden Rule (card text takes priority over rulebook/rules sheet text, rulebook page 11) trumps the rules text in the pilot (X) keyword and forces one particular choice to be made when the Pilot card enters play. The important point is that such an effect uses a construction starting with “as” (“as a participating unit,” “as an enhancement,” etc) following the “put into play” text. Currently, there are only 3 of these types of effects (Infiltration, Stay on Target, and DS-61-3).
 
This ruling is a reversal of the previous Stay on Target ruling, and also reverses the ruling on Infiltration (0575) as that card uses a similar wording to Stay on Target. (Infiltration reads: “...…put a Character unit into play from your hand as a participating unit on your side. …”) This means that if you play Infiltration and choose a Character unit with the pilot (X) keyword, the unit you choose must end up in play “as a participating unit on your side.” Furthermore, if you use Stay on Target, the chosen Pilot card must end up in play “as an enhancement on a target friendly Vehicle unit.” These two effects, and any similar effects that uses an “as a {SOMETHING}” phrase, dictate a manner in which the card must enter play, which—because of the golden rule that gives priority to card text—the pilot (X) rules will not override.
 
Other effects that put units into play that do not have such “as an…” phrasing that dictates the manner in which the card enters play, however, can still interact with the pilot (X) rules. For example, the Millennium Falcon(0332) says “…put a Character or Droid unit into play from your hand.” In this case, if you put a Character unit with the pilot (X) keyword into play using the Millennium Falcon’s text, you would have the choice of whether that unit enters play as a unit or as a Pilot enhancement. This is because the Falcon does not dictate the manner in which the card must enter play, only the conditions it must meet in order to be chosen to put into play.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

  • SmokeyJ, doctormungmung, TwoShedsJackson and 9 others like this

#103
Bungo

Bungo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Awesome! good work FFG!



#104
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

Annnnnnd there was much rejoicing.

 

I will now get back on the bike with you.

 

dumb-and-dumber.jpg


  • Majestaat likes this

#105
yodaman

yodaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2805 posts

That seems like a very sensible ruling. :D   Good work FFG for addressing this so quickly. 



#106
Majestaat

Majestaat

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1913 posts

JUSTICE -and whining- PREVAILS!


  • hundreds and chunkygorillas like this

#107
Scottie

Scottie

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1968 posts
Golden Rule wins out even in cases where the card text is more restrictive then what the rules normally allow. Even though the most common application of the Golden Rule allows you to do things you normally can't.
  • yodaman likes this

#108
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3930 posts

Golden Rule wins out even in cases where the card text is more restrictive then what the rules normally allow. Even though the most common application of the Golden Rule allows you to do things you normally can't.

Yep.  It was just overlooked in the initial ruling on Infiltration (which never really caused a problem so nobody looked harder at it) and then when the "case law" from Infiltration was applied to Stay On Target and lead to funny business it was re-evaluated.



#109
Letux

Letux

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1647 posts
Now we just need the Luke objective ruling or the Han event tweaked.

#110
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

Now we just need the Luke objective ruling or the Han event tweaked.

 

Specifically how?



#111
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3930 posts

From what I could gather, there are no plans to change the Hero's Trial ruling.  We'll see if they address the infinite Hobbie loop proactively or use the months between GenCon and Worlds to see if the meta can handle it.



#112
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

Sorry for being daft, but what exactly was the Hero's Trial ruling? It changed? What was it before?



#113
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3930 posts

Sorry for being daft, but what exactly was the Hero's Trial ruling? It changed? What was it before?

It was originally ruled that it could not be used to play a pilot (as an enhancement), but was reversed upon follow up questioning.



#114
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

OK, so currently, you can play a pilot card from hand using Hero's Trial as an enhancement or as a unit?



#115
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts

OK, so currently, you can play a pilot card from hand using Hero's Trial as an enhancement or as a unit?


As an enhancement. It plays the enhancement so the 2nd part of the pilot keyword doesn't come into play.

Tbh it's only a problem for Hobbie and only because an upcoming card makes him free.

While I don't agree with the ruling, in this case it doesn't actually seem counter intuitive. If you can play a pilot as a pilot or an enhancement then most people would just assume Hero's Trial works. So it's probably good in that regard.

With most pilots you can do what you would do with Hero's Trial anyway and create surprises. It's only Hobbie and Rogue X's that create a bit of a problem.

Given that the final pack won't be available for Gencon I think you'll only see a change to one of the 4 parts of the combo in the next FAQ if they deem it to be bad for the game. (Which I think it is. it's exactly on par with Fett and Training Procedures)

#116
yodaman

yodaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2805 posts

I think just as an enhancement



#117
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3930 posts

Correct, just as an enhancement.



#118
MonteKev

MonteKev

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 339 posts

good deal, thanks to all involved.



#119
SeeThreebilbo

SeeThreebilbo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1819 posts

 

Stay on Target (0702/0712) reads: “You may put a Pilot card into play from your hand or discard pile as an enhancement on a target friendly Vehicle unit.” And the pilot (X) keyword rules state: “When a card with the pilot (X) keyword is put into play by a card effect, the player resolving the effect chooses whether it enters play as a unit or as a Pilot enhancement."
 
While the pilot rules do generally permit a player to make a choice as to how a pilot card enters play, effects like Stay on Target dictate how that choice must be made. This is a situation in which the Golden Rule (card text takes priority over rulebook/rules sheet text, rulebook page 11) trumps the rules text in the pilot (X) keyword and forces one particular choice to be made when the Pilot card enters play. The important point is that such an effect uses a construction starting with “as” (“as a participating unit,” “as an enhancement,” etc) following the “put into play” text. Currently, there are only 3 of these types of effects (Infiltration, Stay on Target, and DS-61-3).
 
This ruling is a reversal of the previous Stay on Target ruling, and also reverses the ruling on Infiltration (0575) as that card uses a similar wording to Stay on Target. (Infiltration reads: “...…put a Character unit into play from your hand as a participating unit on your side. …”) This means that if you play Infiltration and choose a Character unit with the pilot (X) keyword, the unit you choose must end up in play “as a participating unit on your side.” Furthermore, if you use Stay on Target, the chosen Pilot card must end up in play “as an enhancement on a target friendly Vehicle unit.” These two effects, and any similar effects that uses an “as a {SOMETHING}” phrase, dictate a manner in which the card must enter play, which—because of the golden rule that gives priority to card text—the pilot (X) rules will not override.
 
Other effects that put units into play that do not have such “as an…” phrasing that dictates the manner in which the card enters play, however, can still interact with the pilot (X) rules. For example, the Millennium Falcon(0332) says “…put a Character or Droid unit into play from your hand.” In this case, if you put a Character unit with the pilot (X) keyword into play using the Millennium Falcon’s text, you would have the choice of whether that unit enters play as a unit or as a Pilot enhancement. This is because the Falcon does not dictate the manner in which the card must enter play, only the conditions it must meet in order to be chosen to put into play.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

 

 

I can breathe again!



#120
Queklaine

Queklaine

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 576 posts

As an enhancement. It plays the enhancement so the 2nd part of the pilot keyword doesn't come into play.

Tbh it's only a problem for Hobbie and only because an upcoming card makes him free.

While I don't agree with the ruling, in this case it doesn't actually seem counter intuitive. If you can play a pilot as a pilot or an enhancement then most people would just assume Hero's Trial works. So it's probably good in that regard.

With most pilots you can do what you would do with Hero's Trial anyway and create surprises. It's only Hobbie and Rogue X's that create a bit of a problem.

Given that the final pack won't be available for Gencon I think you'll only see a change to one of the 4 parts of the combo in the next FAQ if they deem it to be bad for the game. (Which I think it is. it's exactly on par with Fett and Training Procedures)

Does the infinite loop work now with heros trial if you have the locations in play that reduce pilot cost down to zero where hobbi is free?