Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Viserys, saves and the Interupt timing window?

- - - - -

Best Answer istaril , 11 August 2015 - 05:50 PM

Note that the word "would" on saves ("Would leave play/be killed/be discarded") indicates a timing priority. This is actually one of the trickier technical aspects of the rules, but I recommend you check out the Q&TR on this very subject. In essence, by the time you get to using an interrupt to actually dying/leaving play, you've already forgone the opportunity to save - and if you DO save, the character won't get around to dying/leaving play.

 

It sort of looks like this.

 

Effect Would Initiate (A cancel happens here, and if it does, we stop here)
Effect Initiates.

Effect Would Resolve (A save happens here, and if it does, we stop here)
Effect Resolves (an interrupt to the effect resolving happens here, but resolves before the effect it's interrupting).

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
Shadowist

Shadowist

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 269 posts

So Visery's text reads: Interrupt: When Viserys leaves play choose an attachment and discard it from play. From the rulebook a duplicate has the text:

Interrupt
: Interrupt: When the overlapping unique
card would leave play, discard this duplicate to save that

card. (Cannot be canceled.)

 

The text for Interrupt reads:

It is possible for multiple interrupts to be initiated
from the same triggering condition. Each interrupt
must resolve completely before the next interrupt to
the same triggering condition may initiate.
 
This could be read as either A or B
 
A) Effect which would remove viserys from play initiates
- Interrupt: discard an attachment
- Interrupt: Save Viserys
 
OR
 
B) Effect which would remove viserys from play initiates
- Save/Cancel action possible here to save Viserys
 Effect removes viserys from play
-Interrupt: Discard attachment
Viserys actually leaves play
 
I'm assuming B but I thought I'd check.
 
 


#2
Staton

Staton

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 1207 posts

It's B. Viserys would leave play until after the effect goes through. However, if you save him, then the effect doesn't really complete.



#3
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1741 posts
✓  Best Answer

Note that the word "would" on saves ("Would leave play/be killed/be discarded") indicates a timing priority. This is actually one of the trickier technical aspects of the rules, but I recommend you check out the Q&TR on this very subject. In essence, by the time you get to using an interrupt to actually dying/leaving play, you've already forgone the opportunity to save - and if you DO save, the character won't get around to dying/leaving play.

 

It sort of looks like this.

 

Effect Would Initiate (A cancel happens here, and if it does, we stop here)
Effect Initiates.

Effect Would Resolve (A save happens here, and if it does, we stop here)
Effect Resolves (an interrupt to the effect resolving happens here, but resolves before the effect it's interrupting).