Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Milk of the Poppy on setup?

- - - - -

Best Answer Staton , 14 August 2015 - 09:15 PM

Nope. The Rules Reference Guide says that you can only play an attachment during setup if it could legally be attached to one of your cards. So you could play it, but only by attaching it to one of your cards.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
DoctorRiptide

DoctorRiptide

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts

I might just be unable to read, but is it possible to set up milk of the poppy, then when both players flip cards, attach milk to an opponent's character if able, if not discard? Or do attachments on setup only work for your own cards?



#2
Staton

Staton

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 1207 posts
✓  Best Answer

Nope. The Rules Reference Guide says that you can only play an attachment during setup if it could legally be attached to one of your cards. So you could play it, but only by attaching it to one of your cards.


  • Darryl likes this

#3
DoctorRiptide

DoctorRiptide

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Well oops. Thanks.


  • Staton likes this

#4
JoeyJellico

JoeyJellico

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
Give it to jorah

#5
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1741 posts

(On mini-keyboard, answer won't be complete) It's worth noting that the RR entry here doesn't explicitly forbid setting up Milk on an opponent's character (it states that you have to have a legal target for it in YOUR setup, not that it has to go there). However, the entry in the L2P guide specifically states as much (has to be attached to a card you reveal in the next step), and while it's odd that the L2P is more complete, it doesn't "contradict" the RR, so it stands.

 

In short: Staton is still right, but you have to dig a little deeper to convincingly make that case.

 

I have specifically drawn attention to this discrepancy in the unofficial FAQ.


  • Staton likes this

#6
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts

In short: Staton is still right, but you have to dig a little deeper to convincingly make that case.

 

If this phrase isn't embroidered on a pillow or available on a BBQ apron somewhere, it should be.


  • Staton likes this

#7
Staton

Staton

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 1207 posts

I know what Christmas present you're getting, Ktom.