Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Treachery - What can it cancel?

- - - - -

Best Answer Grimwalker , 17 August 2015 - 02:37 PM

I think this is a language barrier issue. The event technically says "Interrupt: When the effects of a triggered ability would initiate, cancel those effects." but with a built in limitation on which Triggered Abilities it can hit: Character, Location, or Attachment.


"Triggered Ability" is defined in the Rules Reference Guide: 


Triggered Abilities
A triggered ability is any ability with a boldface
precursor followed by a colon and the rest of the
ability. This incudes actions, phase specific actions,
interrupts, reactions, forced interrupts or reactions,
and when revealed abilities.
Go to the full post »

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic



    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1462 posts

Limits and Maxima (RRG, p. 12)

If the effects of a card or ability with a limit or a maximum are canceled, it is still counted against the limit/maximum. 




  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Hi. I need some help to consolidate my knowledge :)


Here is a situation that occured earlier today.


My opponent initiate a MIL challenge using Mirri Maz Duur (who had just got her icon from Syrio Forel).

I lose that challenge.

When we reach the "claim step" (C of DUCK), my opponent decides to trigger her reaction that reads:


Interrupt: When claim is applied for a challenge in which Mirri Maz Duur is attacking alone, choose a character controlled by the losing opponent. Instead of the normal claim effects, kill that character.



Proudly, I trigger my Treachery in the hopes of canceling her effect... 


Here is the question: What did I cancel exactly ?

1) Did I cancel the claim replacement effect ? or 2) Did I cancel the "killing of the chosen character" ?


If #1 : it would mean I would have to satisfy a military claim, killing a character of my choice.

If #2 : everyone on the board is safe for now ! 


Thanks in advance for your clarification :)



    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1180 posts

You canceled "Instead of the normal claim effects, kill that character". The claim replacement effect. So now you need to satisfy regular claim.