Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Saving from "Heads on Spikes"

- - - - -

Best Answer ktom , 18 August 2015 - 05:24 PM

It's even more basic than that.

 

According to the definition of "save" effects on p. 18 of the RRG, "saves" work to stop a card that is in play from being removed from play. Since Heads on Spikes is not removing any card from play - only moving them from one out-of-play area to another - save effect cannot be used, period. They don't apply.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
Violator

Violator

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Regarding the plot "Heads on Spikes (Core)" which reads as follows: When Revealed: Choose an opponent. Discard 1 card at random from that player’s hand. If that card is a character, gain 2 power for your faction and place the discarded character in its owner’s dead pile. Can i use a save event such as "Risen from the Sea " to save the character from beeing placed in the dead pile ?? 



#2
Masterdinadan

Masterdinadan

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts
The character is not considered "Killed" so there is no response or interrupt window to react to a character being killed. You can't play Risen from the Sea. Similarly, you could not trigger reactions such as Joffrey's.

#3
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts
✓  Best Answer

It's even more basic than that.

 

According to the definition of "save" effects on p. 18 of the RRG, "saves" work to stop a card that is in play from being removed from play. Since Heads on Spikes is not removing any card from play - only moving them from one out-of-play area to another - save effect cannot be used, period. They don't apply.



#4
Violator

Violator

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

It's even more basic than that.

 

According to the definition of "save" effects on p. 18 of the RRG, "saves" work to stop a card that is in play from being removed from play. Since Heads on Spikes is not removing any card from play - only moving them from one out-of-play area to another - save effect cannot be used, period. They don't apply.

OK I can accept that saves do not apply. So if the character who is discarded and placed in the dead pile by "Heads on Spikes" effect   is a unique one  and i have another copy in my deck or hand can i still put him into play or marshal him or is he considered dead ?



#5
imrahil327

imrahil327

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 296 posts

No, you can't play another and he's still considered dead- when you try to play a unique character, the game just checks the dead pile to see if there is a copy of the card with that title or not; it doesn't care how it got there.



#6
Grimwalker

Grimwalker

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 582 posts

Looks like you triple posted. But, this one is even more basic still.

Rules Reference Guide, p. 5. Dead Pile: A player cannot marshal, play, put into play, or take control of a copy of any unique card that is in his or her dead pile.

 

So, no, he's considered Dead. That's what Heads on Spikes is for.



#7
Violator

Violator

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

No, you can't play another and he's still considered dead- when you try to play a unique character, the game just checks the dead pile to see if there is a copy of the card with that title or not; it doesn't care how it got there.

 

 

Looks like you triple posted. But, this one is even more basic still.

Rules Reference Guide, p. 5. Dead Pile: A player cannot marshal, play, put into play, or take control of a copy of any unique card that is in his or her dead pile.

 

So, no, he's considered Dead. That's what Heads on Spikes is for.

I knew all these already guys... looks like the only thing i didn't knew was how much overpowered "Heads on Spikes" is ....  so it potentially kills from hand without even a chance of saving.  Was there a card with a simillar ability in 1rst edition ?? i mean killing from hand DIRECTLY and with no chance of saving instead of just discarding?? 



#8
mnBroncos

mnBroncos

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 3801 posts

yeah there was a card called aegon's hill that was a 3 cost targ location that every turn in challenge phase you looked at opponents hand and pick what character goes in dead pile. 



#9
ScionMattly

ScionMattly

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1281 posts

Aegon's hill - Heads on Spikes EVERY ROUND.
And it always hit a character, if you had a character in hand.



#10
Violator

Violator

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

yeah there was a card called aegon's hill that was a 3 cost targ location that every turn in challenge phase you looked at opponents hand and pick what character goes in dead pile. 

 

 

Aegon's hill - Heads on Spikes EVERY ROUND.
And it always hit a character, if you had a character in hand.

 

 

I knew all these already guys... looks like the only thing i didn't knew was how much overpowered "Heads on Spikes" is ....  so it potentially kills from hand without even a chance of saving.  Was there a card with a simillar ability in 1rst edition ?? i mean killing from hand DIRECTLY and with no chance of saving instead of just discarding?? 

 

 

It's even more basic than that.

 

According to the definition of "save" effects on p. 18 of the RRG, "saves" work to stop a card that is in play from being removed from play. Since Heads on Spikes is not removing any card from play - only moving them from one out-of-play area to another - save effect cannot be used, period. They don't apply.

 

 

The character is not considered "Killed" so there is no response or interrupt window to react to a character being killed. You can't play Risen from the Sea. Similarly, you could not trigger reactions such as Joffrey's.

OK thanks a lot everyone!! I am very glad to be part of such a helpfull community !! :)  



#11
widowmaker93

widowmaker93

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 1418 posts

Man I hope they bring back Aegon's Hill in some fashion.


  • OKTarg likes this

#12
ScionMattly

ScionMattly

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1281 posts

they did, they called it Heads on spikes!
I'd like to see Rhaenys' Hill, myself.


  • OKTarg likes this